Good Junk Food Hardly Ever Tastes Like Junk

Posted on

Junk food is not-so-oddly deceiving. Fact is, junk food tastes good…real good.

But before I get ahead of myself, I would like to say “Hello blog!” again because I am officially back from my road trip to Yosemite and ready to rock my Seattle world again. A lot of things have happened since the last time I posted.

  1. I got a new phone. As our gorgeous Mean Girls character Gretchen would say, “That’s so fetch!”
  2. My camera broke. Complete and absolute internal breakdown. And looks like I’m going to have to wait some time before any other camera shows up in my hands. That is very saddening news.
  3. I have a real crush on junk food.

which leads me back to where I started. (I guess writing blog posts at 6 am in the morning makes me write in circles). Junk food is really good. Especially when it’s good junk food.

Like my favorite burger: In ‘n’  Out’s Animal Style Cheeseburger

Oh, and like my favorite fries from Dick’s Drive-In.

Hmm…my favorite soda: Mug’s Root Beer.

And who could forget my favorite candy in this world: Jelly Belly jellybeans and Dark Chocolate Peanut M&Ms.

But what about pizza? For those of you eating a leftover slice of that monstrous Supreme Pizza you got from Costco last night, I have not forgotten you. Unfortunately, Costco doesn’t place here. But Zeeks Pizza does.

With prices slightly higher than normal pizza places, this might not pop up as a must-go restaurant for pizza. But it is. In Zeeks Pizza’s new Bellevue location, you can see the chefs throwing up the pizza dough like a classic Italian pizza maestro and then plopping it into an oven after sprinkling your toppings on and dabbing with olive oil or their handmade tomato sauce.

The difference is immediately noticeable. Rather than the hard, unappealing crusts of many pizzas central to our social gatherings, the crust has a lightly crunchy exterior with soft, warm, dough-ey goodness inside. Almost like something that I baked at home…because it is freshly baked.

Another nice things about this place, besides the freshly-made taste and classy air of the restaurant, is its variety of combos. Yes, this means that there is more than Cheese, Pepperoni, Hawaiian, and Supreme. Looking at the combo page of this place is almost like walking into an ice cream parlor. Colors and combos galore! Some of the combos that caught my eye:

  • Thai One On: (Pictured Above) with chicken, bean sprouts, carrots and fresh cilantro right on top of warm mozzarella, Zeeks’ own peanut sauce, and an olive oil glaze (instead of tomato sauce).
  • Kitchen Sink: Oh goodness…like the canadian bacon, pepperoni, Italian sausage, chicken, and bacon weren’t enough to make me drool already. They added mushrooms, black olives, green peppers, roma tomatoes, fresh garlic and fresh oregano!
  • The Forager: Prosciutto, portobello mushrooms, roasted red peppers, arugula and fresh oregano layered over mozzarella, provolone cheese and an olive oil glaze.

I have not yet tried the build-your-own-pizza yet, so that’s something to put on my to-do list. I took a picture of the menu so you can see that a 10″ pizza is $11.45, a 12″ is $13.75, and a 16″ is $16.95. With toppings at $2.00 each, just add about $10 to each pizza and you’ve got yourself the price for what your pizza would probably look like.

The pizza is really good there. So just gulp down the fact that it’s more expensive than Pizza Hut and Domino’s because quality’s what matters. And it’s officially 7:22 am as I am finishing this post. I’ll set it to publish at 11 am. Man…how did that 1 hour and 22 minutes go by from 6 am since I started writing to now. Right, fiddling with my phone, downloading the freebie songs and videos from iTunes, finishing some more pages in my Banangrams Word Puzzle book, checking out Zeeks Pizza’s website, drooling..oh! I haven’t eaten breakfast yet. Better get to that!

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

2 responses »

  1. good information you

    write it very clean. I am very lucky to get this tips from you.

    Reply
  2. Really nice and impressive blog i found today.

    Reply

Leave a comment