RSS Feed

Mixed Berry Boy Bait and a Semi-Annual Reflection

Posted on

Truth: I actually made this just so I could tell my friends “I have boy bait” and they would go “Oh do you? Ha ha” and I would go “No, I’m serious” and let the anticipation build and then break the silence by saying, “Mixed berry boy bait!”.

I didn’t make that name up–the cake’s name is “boy bait”. So I know you’re wondering just how many boys this cake brought to my yard (I am chuckling to myself because I just semi-quoted that song.) Here comes truth #2:

Uh…does my dog count? I seriously baked a cake called “boy bait” but sat at home and ate it with my dog while having an O.C. marathon and wearing gym clothes. So no boys came to the yard. Sorry to disappoint you.

And me, well, I was very content eating that cake with my pug. I think one of the seniors at the assisted living community where I volunteer once jokingly told me that the best part of being single was being able to eat the “Tiramisu for Two” at a restaurant all by yourself. I have to admit I see the truth in that statement.

Anyways, it’s July 7. July fricking seventh. We are halfway (plus one week) through 2011. Wait…what? Halfway? How the @#$% did that happen? I was just sitting here writing about boy bait when I came to this shocking revelation.

So here you have…my little semi-annual reflection of everything that has happened that is memorable in this half-year. Some of the most striking memories were the late nights I spent at the undergraduate library with my friends and study buddies. I know library time probably seems like the most unexciting thing to remember in a half-year, but remembering what happened there just makes me smile.

Like that night when my friend S– and I had only one energy drink, but became so energetic while studying human reproduction for biology that we made great fools of ourselves. And how my friend J– was so obsessed with playing Tetris, he had to take Tetris breaks during our study sessions. And how much laughter can be shared with a group of sleep-deprived, caffeine-dependent students during finals week.

What else? Let’s resort to bullet points (since those are my thing):

  • I developed a severe tank tan from the numerous hours I spent in the Quad ever since the sentence “Today will be a sunny spring day” was first uttered on a Seattle weather forecast this year.
  • I finished the organic chemistry series.
  • I fell in love with froyo.
  • I also fell in love with late night runs. So yeah I’m the person running like crazy down the street at 11 pm.
  • I performed at a Grieg Piano Concert.
  • I got bangs. And no pics unless you ask.
  • I dissected chick embryos and cat testes (probably not the best thing to put on a food blog so don’t read it if you don’t want to lose your appetite)
  • It became a habit of mine to take over classrooms during the weekends and plug my iPod into the speakers so I could have a room swirling with music while I studied.
  • I went to a theme park with some of my friends and went on all the upside-down rides that I was too scared to go on when I was in middle school and consequently befriended some of the gutsy 5th graders who went on the rides with us.
  • I got elected to be Secretary at the UW Cuisine Club for the 2011-2012 school year.
  • I rode the bus to more random places in the Seattle area than I have ever done before.
  • I started listening to alternative rock and consequently fell in love with The Airborne Toxic Event (they are my favorite band at the moment).
  • I found a new favorite coffee shop to get my morning lattes from.
  • I started shadowing physicians this year and learned more about the field of medicine than I have ever learned.
  • I set off a sparkler for the first time on the 4th of July. My friend S– also set off a sparkler and almost dropped the sparks on a woman’s hair. As hilarious as it might have been embarrassing.

Come to think about it…I guess it makes sense that more than half of 2011 is over already. What have you done this past half year?

Mixed Berry Boy Bait (Adapted from Une Gamine Dans La Cuisine)

Cake ingredients
2 cups plus 2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon of salt
16 tablespoons (that’s 2 sticks) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs, at room temperature
1 cup whole milk
3/4 cup of fresh berries (strawberries, cleaned and sliced, and blueberries, lightly washed)

Topping ingredients
1/4 cup granulated sugar
zest of 2 limes
1/2 cup of fresh berries

Method
Preheat the oven to 350 F. Line a 13 by 9-inch pan with foil. Grease and flour the entire pan, gently tapping out any excess flour.In a large bowl, whisk two cups flour, baking powder, and salt together in medium bowl. Set aside.

With electric mixer, or in a stand mixer (using the paddle attachment), beat the butter and both sugars on medium-high speed until fluffy (about 2 minutes). Add eggs, one at a time, beating until just incorporated and scraping down bowl.
Reduce speed to medium and beat in one-third of flour mixture until incorporated; beat in half of milk. Beat in half of remaining flour mixture, then remaining milk, and finally remaining flour mixture. Set aside.

In another bowl, toss the berries with remaining 2 teaspoons of flour. Using rubber spatula, gently fold in the berries. Spread the batter evenly into prepared pan. Set aside

Prepare the topping: In a medium bowl, and using your fingertips, rub the sugar and lime zest together until it becomes moist and fragrant.

Sprinkle the 1/2 cup of berries evenly over the top of the cake batter, followed by the lime-sugar mixture. [Note: I found it easier to sprinkle the sugar over the cake by using my fingers.]

Bake for about 40-45 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean (try to avoid running it through a berry). Cool in pan 20 minutes, then turn out and place on serving platter (topping side up).

Serve warm or at room temperature. Great with ice cream!

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

6 responses »

  1. You probably don’t know how much I love you after reading this post. I giggled so much when I read about your boy bait adventure.
    and /I/ want to see pictures of your bangs! Can’t imagine you being even more adorable than you are already though.

    Reply
  2. Pic-ture pic-ture pic-ture! Come on readers, chant with me!
    I adore you just as much as Leann does.

    Reply
  3. Holy cow your blog is awesome!
    What have I done this year? Let’s see….I got engaged =)

    Reply
  4. Pingback: O Beautiful, For Spacious Pies « Seattle Lunchbox

Leave a Reply

