RSS Feed

Writer’s Block and Old-Fashioned Beer Bread

Posted on

I feel like a terrible person. Terrible person being one of those people who leaves Phad Thai stains and French fry grease on the library desk only to have me plop my book down and end up with a disgustingly greasy back cover, or one of those friends of friends who you don’t know very well but whom you share your Sun Chips with while sitting in the Quad, only to have her grab the entire bag and munch away at it in an unpleasantly greedy manner.

Yes, I feel like a terrible person because I have been unfair to my lovely blog readers by hardly ever blogging. What is up with me, right? Two words: writer’s block.

I have the pictures! And the recipes! Just no inspiration to write. And I check my blog stats everyday and see that so many people continue reading my blog, which makes me the uncommitted, constantly-flaking person in my relationship with my readers. That just stinks. I don’t want to be that person and you, my dear readers, don’t want to deal with that person, so I come back from my bout of writer’s block with a proposal:

IT’S TIME TO REVAMP OUR RELATIONSHIP.

I will be a loyal blogger (besides when it is finals week, in which case you will have to put up with my flaking) and will no longer leave you hanging. Let’s start now, shall we?

I just shared a miraculously smile-generating love song with you. See? Revamping in progress. In addition, I baked beer bread. Hot and homemade and amazing. I used a classic Budweiser lager and will probably experiment with another type next time, but the result this time was perfect (great texture, color, and taste).

The best part? It’s a quick bread. No yeast. No waiting. What madness!

See? This is the lovely recipe that I have chosen to make my comeback with. If you don’t feel loved right now…I am going to feel dejected.

Yikes. This post is short. I am a recuperating “writer’s block”-ic (that doesn’t even make sense). Bear with me.

Old-Fashioned Beer Bread (From Three Many Cooks)

Serves 12

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 bottle or can (12 ounces) beer
1 egg, beaten

Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and heat oven to 375 degrees. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Add beer (no sips!) and stir with a fork until just combined. Turn dough onto a floured surface; knead quickly to form a ball. Place bread on a baking sheet and confidently slit an X on top with a serrated or very sharp knife. Brush loaf with egg wash. Bake until golden brown, about 45 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Serve!


About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

4 responses »

  1. Natalie, I think I speak for all your readers when I say that no matter how long it has been, I am always extremely pleased to see a new blog post from you. Even when you are telling us about what a terrible person (which you are not) you think you are, your sense of humor shines through.
    Shine on, young college baker! Your readers will always love you.

    Reply
  2. Hooray you’re back! The world of WordPress rejoices on this wonderful night.

    Reply
  3. no sips? really? seriously though, this bread sounds delish and seems to be a surprisingly quick recipe. thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. I can only say yummmmmmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

