RSS Feed

Brewing Some Butterbeer: A Dedication to My Blubber

Dear Natalie’s blubber,

When I talk about you and stare at you, don’t feel hurt–I’m not waddling in self-pity. I’m living up to reality. Reality is…I don’t care if the whole world knows that I had an additional 7 pounds of you after my trip to Italy. It’s Italy, for heaven’s sake! I turned a corner and , bam! A heavenly ristorante or osteria luring me into its trap. How could I refrain from eating five meals a day? (We seriously ate an average of five meals a day.)

Plus, the day after I came back, I threw my hands in the air and said “To hell with it all!” and gorged myself on burgers and homely American fries. But then little waves of guilt start surging up and that’s the only situation that I ever willingly say…

I need to lose weight/work out more because as much as I loved my spaghetti alla carbonara, risotto, and my 2 euro bowls of heaping gelato, carrying it around like that is not such a good idea. And that’s the source of my motivation for going to the gym. I’m sorry I got rid of some extra pounds of you, blubber.

Love,

Natalie

Dear World,

We all have blubber. I talk about my blubber because it’s there and there’s no need to lie and pretend to have a cardboard flat stomach. So brew some butterbeer and let’s make a toast to blubber!

Love,

Natalie

Butterbeer Recipe (From Associated Content)

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups of milk
2 tablespoons of brown sugar
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1 teaspoon of butter

Directions:

1. Heat milk in a small saucepan over medium-high heat

2. Add the rest of the ingredients

3. Blend with a mixer to make it frothy

3. Bring the mixture almost to boiling

4. Serve

If you didn’t notice, I used a red cup for Gryffindor and a green cup for Slytherin. Not a huge Harry Potter fan, but I do my best to stay up to date with my friends and their obssessions.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

2 responses »

  1. Your sense of humor and confidence never cease to amaze me. The world needs more girls like you!

    Reply
  2. Yes!!! Dandi’s made it in frozen form too, it’s quite delicious even though her caramel didn’t really melt 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

