RSS Feed

Snow, Thankfulness, Almond Crisps, and Recipes

My school is absolutely breathtaking when covered in snow. Our elegant brick buildings are suddenly layered with a thick, untouched coat of snow. Our evergreen trees are powdered white and friends are shaking branches on top of friends’ heads. Our slippery brick-paved roads become hot spots for slipping and sliding, both intentionally and unintentionally. Baristas are churning out eggnog lattes and peppermint mochas at an exponentially higher rate.

Then, the bus routes are changed and delayed. Dudes are still walking around in basketball shorts in the freezing cold. And your dear blogger forgot her hat, her scarf, and her gloves. This is what snow is like in Seattle. It’s really something. If you ever want to have an amazing holiday break, come to Seattle. You won’t be disappointed. (No, the Washington Department of Tourism did not pay me to say that. I actually meant it.)

A snow-covered rose from the school rose garden.

The Drumheller Fountain courtyard, powdered with snow and beautiful

 

 

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I just wanted to write a little bit about…thankfulness.

I am thankful for my all the awesome people in my family. My mom who has recently taken up watching Glee with my sister and me and is now a fan of Mike Chang. My dad who tries to increase his tolerance of spicy foods by ordering a few stars above the amount he can tolerate and keeps us laughing through our meals at Thai restaurants as he empties glasses of water every minute. My sister who shares her Halloween candy with me. And my pug Didi whose wet doggy sneezes in my face are a perfect way to start my day.

I am thankful for every single one of my friends who always make me laugh or smile or roll over guffawing. And yes, I am very thankful for laughter. If you have ever made me laugh, I am thankful for you.

I am thankful for cookie dough, flaky pie crust, and spoonfuls of cake batter, without which I cannot imagine how I would survive.

I am thankful for the people who read my blog and leave comments that make me feel like a million bucks. You know who you are and I adore you.

I am thankful for the Husky Football Team winning against UCLA (one of our only football games that is broadcast nation-wide on ESPN). Thank you for making the U of Washington an awesome school to people across America.

Man I can go on with this. I guess I’m one of those people who has to write out twenty pages for an acceptance speech because there is just so much to mention! But because of a time crunch, I am going to stop and present you with one final thing I am thankful for.

I am thankful for almond crisps.

My Mom’s Best Almond Crisps

Ingredients

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 2 tbsp of oil
  • 1 1/2 cups sliced almonds

Preheat the oven to 250F. Using an electric mixer, beat the egg whites, flour, sugar, and oil together until mixed (you don’t have to beat until soft peaks form, just mixed). Pour it onto a standard cookie sheet covered with aluminum foil (do not grease it). Spread the mixture on the cookie sheet until there is a very thin layer of batter covering most of the sheet. Sprinkle the almonds evenly over the batter. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until golden brown (do NOT underbake. This will leave you with soggy almond crisps.)

These are incredible. You might as well just reserve 6 egg whites to make a double batch instead of a single since I can guarantee that you will want to make more.

And not just for yourself, for everybody. It’s Thanksgiving! And these almond crisps are the easiest treat to bring to a potluck, or to wrap in little goodie bags to give to your friends as “Friendsgiving” Gifts or to your parents as “Mom/Dadsgiving” gifts. And now, as promised, some Thanksgiving Recipe Ideas.

Granola Topped Pumpkin Maple Pie

 

Brown Sugar Maple Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake

Chocolate Spice (Starry-Eyed Cookies)

Pecan Sandies

Simple Apple Tart

cookies and milk, the classic way

Mexican Chocolate Cookies

Happy Turkey Day, everyone!

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

5 responses »

  1. Nice photos and congrats to the Huskies on the win.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: World Spinner

  3. Yummyyyy…..all of that looks delicious. You made the snow sound delightful, actually it is when it first falls and accumulates everywhere…esp the trees. It extremely cold today where I live, – 41 C, and according to a weather and astronomy tracking website we were the 2nd coldest place in the world today…lol. The 1st being a South Pole Station in the Antarctica…..thank goodness it will be warming up tomorrow.

    I think I am going to try a couple of these recipes this weekend…..those chocolate spice cookies look so yummy. I have to end with that I thought it was cute how you were very thankful for cookie dough, flaky pie crust and cake batter. Those happen to be my sons favorite too when I am trying to bake.

    Have a great rest of the week ! Tracie 🙂

    Reply
  4. makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

    Reply
  5. hi I was fortunate to come cross your blog in wordpress
    btw the theme of you blog is really cool
    where can find it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

