RSS Feed

Crazy in the Kichen with Butterscotch and Bananas

Dang…it’s been 9 days since I’ve posted. This is not good. I blame my frazzled nerves. My life is the equivalent of a piece of burnt bacon right now. So sizzling good at first, but I let it crisp for a bit too long and now it’s burnt. A perfect piece of bacon burnt because my love affair with crisp bacon went too far.

That is nerve-frazzling.

So what happened last week was that my post on Pecan Sandies was upgraded and featured on WordPress’s “Freshly Pressed” which very few bloggers get to be featured on (compared to the number of blogs that exist). I found out while sitting in my school library and nearly hollered with excitement. But I controlled myself and let the glee simmer inside of me.

Now what happened afterwards can only be described as craziness. My friends A– and I– decided to study with me so we got a small group study room…and two full-size bags of Lay’s Potato Chips. Do I even need to elaborate? We finished both bags. Divided evenly, I gobbled down about 2/3 a large bag of potato  chips. But that’s not all…

I still went home happy as heck and decided to make the Best Chocolate-Chip Cookies in the world.

That didn’t happen.

What started off as chocolate-chip cookies turned into butterscotch-chip cookies which turned into butterscotch-chip cookies filled with banana.

Seriously. I suppose the butterscotch chips seem reasonable, but banana? Is part of my subconscious secretly in love with bananas?

Maybe it’s because Gwen Stefani likes to spell “bananas” for me whenever she yells about how she doesn’t want to be a “Hollaback Girl”. Maybe it’s because the Banana Phone song is addicting but gets on my nerves. Maybe it’s because….who cares.

Fact is, I filled my cookies with bananas.

And oozing bananas in cookies fresh out of the oven are the best thing ever. Ever had caramelized bananas? Think caramelized banana…in a crispy cookie with melted butterscotch.

Way too good.

Banana Filled Butterscotch Cookies (By me!)

  • 1 stick of butter (1/2 cup)
  • 1/2 cup golden brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup organic cane sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cup AP flour
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1 1/2 bananas

Cream the butter and sugar together until creamy, then add the egg and vanilla. Beat a bit until incorporated. Add all the powders (flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt) and mix well. Lastly mix in butterscotch chips. Cut the bananas into slices (1/2 inch). Drop tablespoons of dough onto a cookie sheet. Put a banana slice in each one and top with more dough, covering the banana. Bake in pre-heated over at 350ºF until golden brown (~8-10 minutes).

(P.S. Submitting these cookies to the Domestic Goddess‘s monthly Sugar High Challenge over at Souffle Days. Cheers!)

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

17 responses »

  1. Why are you so amazing? You make me laugh every time.

    Reply
  2. I just discovered your blog and I am awestruck. Your food looks amazing and you have an amazing sense of humor.

    Reply
  3. Whoa. That’s a creative idea and it sounds insanely good.

    Reply
  4. I’m going to use this! Thanks!

    Reply
  5. Caramelized bananas in a cookie? I think you might be a genius.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Go Green Natural Living

  7. Thanks for submitting these. Very cute cookies and great idea!

    -Heather

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Sugar High Friday #71 Roundup! « Soufflé Days

  9. Just made these. They are DELICIOUS!! Next time, I may use less sugar, because the combination of butter makes them *incredibly* rich.

    I assume I was to have used one egg (the recipe didn’t specify).

    FABULOUS RECIPE! : ) Thank you and well done!

    Reply
  10. On your recipe where it says sugar , do u mean half a cup. cause it looks like 2 cups

    Reply
  11. okay i am confused. I see in the writing part it says a egg but the recipe doesn’t.. Is that a error. I am going to make them tonight and just want to be sure

    Reply
  12. These taste so good.. I just made them, but one last question. Mine were nice looking like yours mine spread out and were kind of thin.. Any ideas

    Reply
  13. Weren’t nice looking like yours

    Reply

Leave a Reply

