RSS Feed

(Pecan) Sandy, My Darling, You Hurt Me Real Bad

Aloha from the land of class registration. The land of checking Winter Quarter schedules everyday and secretly hoping that senior priority doesn’t get in the way of my wimpy sophomore status and nobody wants to register for my class or section so I can get…nope. Someone registered already. Not just someone. Half the class is filled.

Yeah, way to make my wishes come true 11:11. This is why I don’t make wishes at 11:11 or while holding my breath and closing my eyes through a tunnel anymore (and partially because if I held my breath and closed my eyes while cruising through a tunnel, I would crash the car and would end up in one of those “FAIL” blogs with headlines “GIRL CRASHES CAR WHILE TRYING TO MAKE A WISH IN A TUNNEL”).

That is not going on my internet record. Ever. So don’t make wishes while closing your eyes, holding your breath, and driving through a tunnel. It doesn’t work anyways.

Also, hola from the land of sleeplessness and zombie eyes. I’m having a blast, as you can see. Spending my days chilling under freezing cold rain and warming my fingers with a double-shot caramel latte as I become a semi-resident at the school library. And that soundtrack of snoring students and frantic page-flipping puts a nice little cherry on top.

Yes. These are the lands I am writing from. I know you wish you were here too.

Pecan Sandies (From Martha Stewart)

Makes 18

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1 cup pecans, coarsely chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, with racks in upper and lower thirds. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy; beat in vanilla and salt. With mixer on low, gradually add flour, beating just until combined. Fold in pecans.
  2. Roll dough into 1 1/2-inch balls, and place on two baking sheets, 2 inches apart. With the dampened bottom of a glass, lightly flatten each ball.
  3. Bake until cookies are golden brown, 15 to 17 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. Transfer to wire racks, and let cool. (To store, keep in an airtight container, up to 5 days.)


P.S. Oh and about the title of this post…it’s a Grease reference. I couldn’t help it! It just so happens that everytime I hear the word Sandy I think of Grease. No, don’t shake your head at me. Watch the video again, and see if you can legitimately tell me that you didn’t wish you had a huge hair poof, a leather bomber, and a love song to sing at a drive-in movie.

Oh Sandy baby, someday….

not. Because Sandy just bought some black skinny jeans and she’ll be singing an awesome duet with you very soon (brush up by looking up the lyrics of “You’re the One that I Want” if you don’t know them by heart already). No more old school whining, Danny. Be a tough cookie.

Or bake some cookies. Girls like either one.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

49 responses »

  1. Your posts always make me laugh out loud. Kudos for being one of the funniest bloggers I know.

    Reply
  2. How funny! My sister was just watching Grease the other day. You and her are really alike in a strange way.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: (Pecan) Sandy, My Darling, You Hurt Me Real Bad

  4. Thank you…I just found out what I am making for thanksgiving!!!!

    Reply
  5. Thank you…I just found out what I am making for thanksgiving!!!!
    http://www.runtobefit.wordpress.com

    Reply
  6. I had to look at the post….My Mom love Grease! I am sure she will love these cookies as well. I can’t wait to show her your post. So funny! Hunter71 🙂 http://www.hcrproducts.com

    Reply
  7. Whenever I attempt to try a Martha Stewart recipe, I can’t help but feel her steely cold eyes boring into the back of my ahead as I try to make it. She knows I’m going to make mediocre creations, compared to the morsels she weaves. Damn you, Martha! Damn you!

    Reply
  8. what is it about 11 11 is it a good time or bad time to make a wish and why?

    Reply
    • @auntbethany: I know exactly how you feel. But, trust me, these sandies are some of the easiest cookies I’ve ever made in my life. So bake them and say “HA!” to Martha Stewart. 😉
      @blackshepherd: Funny that you ask because I actually don’t know. My understanding of it is that it’s actually an urban myth and no one can really trace its origin (it was probably some “cool stuff” spread from friend to friend or relative to relative). Unfortunately, I used to be plagued by the frenzy of waiting for the clock to turn 11:11 and scrambling to make a wish. Clearly, that was 100% urban myth.

      Reply
  9. Whyyy-yiiii-yii-yiiii?….Oh Sandy
    Sorry I could help myself. xD

    Reply
  10. This is hilarious, I love watching Grease its a great film

    Reply
  11. The cookies look good, and the reference to Grease is funny! Thanks for sharing!

    evelyngarone.com

    Reply
  12. This is entirely fantastic, and it’s making me so hungry and laugh so hard, all at the same time. Wonderful.

    Reply
  13. Hey~ what type of class do you run? OH_ and I know what you mean about almost living in the library. Ha- it’s so quiet, and you can concentrate and get stuff done- that is if, you don’t distract yourself (cough: facebook!) hm.. excuse me. 🙂 But I like your use of cookie/pie material!

    Reply
  14. Too funny. My blog post the other day was entitled “You’re The One I Want” from Grease.
    The pecan cookies looks yummo. Thanks for sharing.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    Reply
  15. Like the fans above I laughed so hard reading this. You need a friend to whisper with in the library!! You do!!

    Reply
  16. Your title cracked me up–I instantly started singing that song!

    Reply
  17. Hey Natalie. I love the title. And you’re a fantastic writer … are you sure you should be going into microbiology? Well, best wishes in the land of science.
    Cheers,
    Courtney

    Reply
  18. Congrats for being FP’d!
    Two great tastes that taste great together–John Travolta and Pecan Sandies!
    Thanks for the laugh and choosing the guy that I will dream about tonight…..

    Reply
  19. I love this and the recipe looks amazing. Likes the way you added John Travolta…Very unique.. Thanks…

    Reply
  20. Hello, just stumbled across your blog….I love that movie Grease…reminded me of younger years at the drive-in with my boyfriend….lol good memories! Thanks 😉 Have a wonderful rest of the week

    Reply
  21. I absolutely love Grease…and pecan sandies! I am always singing the tunes from Grease and trying to get my kids to watch it again–for the umpteenth time. They think I’m nuts. Love the dance scene where ChaCha steals Danny away from Sandy to do some hot moves on the floor with him to win the dance contest. And, of course, the end scene at the amusement park where they sing “You’re the one that I want!” Ah, yes…”Beauty school dropout…, Summer nights…, Sandra Dee…, Grease Lightning…” There all great! I think I’m going to go torture my kids. “I got chills, they’re multiplying, and I’m losing control…”

    Reply
  22. I love Grease!! And Im sure Im going to love these cookies! Thansk for making me laugh…I needed that. : )

    Reply
  23. As fans of the above, I laughed so hard reading. Need a friend still whispering in the library! You!

    Reply
  24. Loved the grease reference and the way you set up the blog to not even be about the cookies. The photos were fab, too. A big congrats on getting freshly pressed.

    Reply
  25. great post…and i know every word to every song from the movie…remember where i was when i saw it (but forget the boy’s name i was on the date with), and have loved john travolta forever..thanks for the terrific writing to evoke memories…

    Congrats on being FP.

    http://workingtechmom.wordpress.com

    Reply
  26. Laughing my ass off right now. I’m in university. I know what it feels like to be a freshman and sophomore.
    Chill, we’re right beside you. Right now, I look back at those days and laugh.
    Ashley.

    Reply
  27. Adorei o jeito como vc mistura as coisas: receita, sentimento, música, cinema… é a primeira vez que entro, mas ficou muito interessante!

    Reply
  28. Looks really yummy!

    Reply
  29. The title of your post brought back memories of all the Keebler Elves Pecan Sandies my dad bought over the years. I tried one once but I didn’t like it because it was too hard. I don’t think anyone else in the house ate them either.

    Reply
  30. “Those, su-hum-mer . . . NIHHHHH, HIGHTSSSS!” Mr. Travolta had a great voice for an actor. Under-appreciated, he is. Cheers and thanks for a great post (and recipie!).
    -Wineguider, http://wineguider.wordpress.com

    Reply
  31. A different Pecan Sandy reference:

    Frank: Well, can I at least pick the name of the band?
    Mac: What do you got?
    Frank: The Pecan Sandies.
    Mac: Isn’t that a cookie?
    Frank: Yeah. It’s a cookie, but it’s got another meaning.
    Mac: What’s the other meaning?
    Frank: What?
    Mac: Other than a cookie, what’s the other meaning?
    Frank: It’s a, you know, it’s a sexual meaning.
    Mac: No, we are not the Pecan Sandies, all right? We are Chemical Toilet. Because chicks want guys that wear tight pants and tattered clothing and spit blood — not guys dress like waiters who name themselves after desserts.

    McElhenney, Rob, and Glenn Howerton. “Sweet Dee’s Dating A Retarded Person.” It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia. FX Network. 11 Oct. 2007. Television.

    Reply
  32. reading your blog is a great fun. Unfortunately I have to convert “cup” and “teaspoon” to mass units, which we use in Europe. but I’ve already found it, thanks google. Greetings from Germany 🙂

    Reply
  33. I absolutely love Grease…and pecan sandies! I am always singing the tunes from Grease and trying to get my kids to watch it again–for the umpteenth time. They think I’m nuts. Love the dance scene where ChaCha steals Danny away from Sandy to do some hot moves on the floor with him to win the dance contest. And, of course, the end scene at the amusement park where they sing “You’re the one that I want!” Ah, yes…”Beauty school dropout…, Summer nights…, Sandra Dee…, Grease Lightning…” There all great! I think I’m going to go torture my kids. “I got chills, they’re multiplying, and I’m losing control…”
    http://www.y3.vc

    Reply
  34. What a fabulous post! And so funny- and the Sandy reference is just absolutely perfect! LOL!

    Reply
  35. All plans for a healthy dinner now discarded. Bring on the Sandy Pecans.

    Reply
  36. chiropractor in san jose

    Good stuff, thanks!

    Reply
  37. Pingback: Is there such a thing as “Not so Freshly Pressed but still kinda good?” « Social Media Darling?

  38. you got good style, waiting for the next good post

    Reply
  39. Why didn’t I think of this before?

    Reply
  40. Pingback: Crazy in the Kichen with Butterscotch and Bananas | Seattle Lunchbox

  41. Pingback: Snow, Thankfulness, Almond Crisps, and Recipes | Seattle Lunchbox

  42. I have built a website and and i want to change the theme.Yours looks pretty decent! Feel free to visit my blog and suggest things!

    Reply
  43. Pingback: Another random post « The Next Thing

  44. Pingback: Basil Infused Olive Oil Cupcakes with White Wine and My Year in Stats | Seattle Lunchbox

Leave a Reply

