RSS Feed

Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

Today during my poetry writing class, I wrote my first poem about…blueberry yogurt. Isn’t it convenient that “dreamy” and “creamy” rhyme? And so do “bite” and “tight”? (“Tight” as in the synonym for “cool” used by people these days.)

You can really learn a lot from poetry class.

You can also learn a lot as you walk around on campus. For instance, you can learn where to recycle the pointless flyers that are shoved into your hands by zealous students. Definitely an important piece of knowledge there.

I also learned that it’s not a good idea for me to walk too close to a hot dog stand and let the smell of grilled dogs infiltrate my olfactory nerves because that will lead to a meat craving. And somehow that meat craving turned into a bacon craving. And that lead to the not-so-ingenious idea of peanut butter bacon cookies. Hmm…

Peanut butter and bacon. Possibly the world’s most salivated over duo (or most disgusting, depending on who you are). If you could see the looks my friends gave me when I told them about these cookies…

“EW!” “Baconn.” “That sounds gross…but I want to try one.” “”I want some!”

So after my morning dance class, I fried seven strips of bacon and watched the grease sizzle on the crisp slices of pork as I felt my arteries clogging. Still, I had a craving. And nothing gets in between crispy bacon and me.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies (adapted from Joy The Baker)

makes 24 huge cookies about the size of your palm

2 cups all-natural chunky or smooth peanut butter

2 cup sugar (1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup granulated sugar)

2 eggs

2 teaspoons baking soda

about 7 slices of bacon, cooked, cooled and dices

In a skillet over medium high heat, fry up bacon until cooked through and let cool on paper towels until cool enough to dice.  Dice up and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease a baking sheet with butter and set aside. In a mixer combine peanut butter and sugars until well combined, about 2 minutes. Add egg and baking soda and mix for another 2 minutes.  Fold in cooked bacon.   Roll into large walnut sized balls and create a cris-cross pattern with a fork. If you’d like, roll the dough balls in granulated sugar before making the cris-cross pattern. Bake for 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool on a baking sheet for five minutes, then transfer to… your mouth.


These cookies went really fast. One friend told me it was a bombardment of tastes. Bacon with peanut butter and with that classic cookie feel. Another told me she just couldn’t put it down because bacon and peanut butter together can really steal a foodie’s heart. And me? I loved them too. They satisfied my craving and gave me the perfect excuse to take a stress break to bake.

So, peanut butter bacon cookies, you’re officially on my “Cookie” list now. Congratulations.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

5 responses »

  1. Oh my word. You are going to ruin my diet. These sound too good to be true! I can’t help but bake them. I must make them now, in fact.

    Reply
  2. NO WAY. *twitch*

    Reply
  3. Hey nat….so there’s no flour in these cookies?

    Reply
  4. What would happen if you added chocolate? I love bacon and chocolate. Maybe some mini-chips? or maybe dipped in chocolate?

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Food | Pearltrees

Leave a Reply

