RSS Feed

Homemade Chocolate Button Oreos

Life doesn’t get any better than this.

Two of my besties J– and J– are back from vacation and I can goof off and giggle with them again. TV season premieres are everywhere. Gossip Girl premiere, 90210 premiere, Nikita premiere. And next week…oh boy. Don’t even get me started about how many premieres there are next week.

And today I went to a retirement home and gave the seniors manicures. We chatted about how seductively red a nail polish was, and how rosy pink another was. Then they told me about their husbands and their first kisses. The romance of the post-war era seemed to come alive as we waited for nail polish to harden and they told stories of charming boys and scandals.

Then they asked me about my friends. I told them about nearly everyone from my college’s Early Entrance program and all my other close friends. They asked for all the details and whenever I mentioned a guy, they would ask me if I thought he was cute and pry even deeper when I said “Sort of…”

They pointed at my cheeks whenever I blushed and chuckled to themselves. I do that to my sister. All the woes and drama of middle school come back in floods of memories when we have our heart-to-heart conversations.

So Cyndi Lauper and Martina McBride, your songs “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” and “This One’s for the Girls” are so true. Even with pale hair and gentle wrinkles, the seniors are true girls at heart. They adore a good manicure as much as any girl and they love chitchatting about cute boys as much as my friends (if not more). We had the most splendid afternoon together.

Top it all off with homemade Oreo cookies and you get…complete bliss.

I’d just like to point out that I am definitely not an Oreo fan. I find the filling ridiculously sugary and paste-like and the cookie…disgusting. But when you take a sandwich cookie from your own oven, made with your own personalized cream filling, that changes everything. I didn’t want a flat crispy cookie, so I made little macaron-like chocolate buttons and paired them up using a homemade filling.

Milk's best friend indeed.

Chocolate Button Oreos (Adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

For the chocolate buttons:
3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sugar
5 tablespoons room-temperature, unsalted butter
1 large egg

For the filling:
1/2 stick room-temperature, unsalted butter
1 cup sifted confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  1. Set two racks in the middle of the oven. Preheat to 375°F.
  2. In a food processor, or bowl of an electric mixer, thoroughly mix the flour, cocoa, baking soda and powder, salt, and sugar. While pulsing, or on low speed, add the butter, and then the egg. Continue processing or mixing until dough comes together in a mass.
  3. Take rounded teaspoons of batter and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet approximately two inches apart. With moistened hands, slightly flatten the dough. Bake for 9 minutes, rotating once for even baking. Set baking sheets on a rack to cool.
  4. To make the cream, place butter in a mixing bowl, and at low speed, gradually beat in the sugar and vanilla. Turn the mixer on high and beat for 2 to 3 minutes until filling is light and fluffy.
  5. To assemble the cookies, take your 1/4 teaspoon measurement and spoon the filling onto the bottom of a cookie. Place another cookie, equal in size to the first, on top of the cream. Lightly press, to work the filling evenly to the outsides of the cookie. Continue this process until all the cookies have been sandwiched with cream. Dunk generously in a large glass of milk.

Makes around 15 cookies depending on how big you want yours. Double the recipe for potlucks and picnics.

These cookies crumble in your mouth. For real.

And they’re the perfect companion for your dear blogger as she studies her way through the Washington Driver Guide in preparation for her Knowledge Test. It’s hard to believe that very soon my parents and I are going to switch spots and I’m going to be the one with the foot on the gas pedal, hands on the steering wheel, and eyes glued to the road (not the newspaper).

I wish driving were more like Mario Karts. You have no idea how much I love speeding and pushing Wario off the track on Rainbow Road. (Am I the only one here who hates Wario?) It’s just too bad there aren’t any acceleration ramps on real life roads and no power-up boxes. If I could shoot green shells at all the drivers in the way…that would be exhilarating.

You probably don’t want to know what would happen if I got one of those mushroom power-ups that doubled my car size. I would be able to run over a Hummer. And it would certainly scare the living daylights out of those obnoxious guys who revved their green Honda next to me and decided to flex their biceps at a red light. Thank God my windows were closed and my radio was playing. Guys, please don’t flex while you’re driving. Peace out.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

7 responses »

  1. You are definitely not the only one who hates Wario. -wink- And as for those cookies…don’t even get ME started on how stupendously delicious they look.

    Reply
  2. These are so cute! They look like little macarons, Only better because they’re chocolatey with cream!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Evenly Light Your Next

  4. Pingback: Q&A: Creative Mp3? | FM MP3 Players

  5. And here I’m trying not to bake. Egads, this one is sending me over the edge.

    Reply
  6. Just pulled the last pan out of the oven. I doubled the recipe, figured if I was going to bake… Mine don’t look like yours, mine have cracks on the tops whereas yours are smooth, almost like a muffin top. I figured out why. I forgot that I swapped my AP flour bin for my SR flour bin. The end result, however, is divine. LOVE them. And I think the additional baking soda may bring them closer to the taste of the cookie in an oreo. Either way, this recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

