RSS Feed

Blueberry Coffee Cake

It’s official. My back-to-school mode has switched on. My blog subscriptions, college paper, and my calendar are getting me hyped up for my sophomore year. Plus, the UW just won its first home football game of the season on Saturday and I happened to be selling parking tickets at the time, so college football fever also got the better of me.

But, after standing for seven hours selling tickets, I got home only to realize that it was dark by 8 pm. There was nothing I could do but pass time by taking a really, really hot shower. The type of shower that leaves you looking like someone brushed a thin layer of Tabasco sauce on you. Yeah…

Dove probably wouldn’t want me to do a body-wash commercial for them.

Anyways, how was your weekend? Terrific? Hanging there? Mediocre? My weekend was an assortment of the all three. But it was mostly…(how should I put it) disconcerting.

First, hot showers are rejuvenating, refreshing, and wonderful. But they either make me forget to shave my legs or simply too lazy to do so. We all know what that leads to in the long run.  Then again, with school right around the corner, nobody ever has to know what’s under those jeans and leggings, right?

Second, I’m missing a bikini bottom. I ransacked my room searching for it but it was fruitless. So…probably shouldn’t go to the pool until I find it/buy a new one.

Third, I’m a little scared to weigh myself. Buying a carton of spumoni ice cream just so I could eat it in one heaping serving and baking a delicious coffee cake might have added to that concern.

Blueberry Coffee Cake (Adapted from Sweet and Savory Life)

Ingredients:
2 cups of AP Flour
2 tsp. of baking powder
1 cup of sugar
1/2 stick of butter, softened
1/2 tsp. of salt
1 egg
2 tsp. of vanilla extract
1/2 cup of plain yogurt
2 cups of fresh blueberries

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 8×8 square pan with non stick spray. In a medium mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar for 3-4 minutes until light in color and creamy. Add egg, yogurt, and vanilla and cream for an additional 2 minutes. Add salt, baking powder, and all-purpose flour and mix on medium speed.  Mix batter until everything is fully incorporated, approx. 3-5 minutes. Batter will be nice and thick. Gently fold in fresh blueberries and pour batter into pan. Top with streusel topping (recipe below) and bake for 45-55 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Streusel Topping Recipe

Ingredients:
4 tbs. of cold butter, cubed in 1/2” squares
2/3 cup of AP flour
3/4 cup of brown sugar
3 tsp. of cinnamon
1/4 tsp. of salt

Directions:

In a food processor or by hand, mix brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, and cold butter until the mixture is crumbly. If mixing by hand, just use your fingertips or the back of a fork. If you are using a food processor just pulsate everything until you get a crumb mixture. For bigger clumps, form little balls with your hand.  Add streusel topping mixture to the top of your cake and bake as directed.

You’re probably wondering what is up with me and blueberries. I simply can’t get enough of them. I even created a category for blueberries because they are just that addicting. You’re probably also wondering what it up with me and baking with yogurt. Like that lemon yogurt cake, those yogurt souffles, the scones with yogurt, and the muffins with yogurt. The fact is…I had a huge container of plain yogurt in my fridge so I edited all the recipes I came upon to include yogurt.

But, today, I finally finished all my yogurt by baking it into my coffee cake. So unless I go crazy over a grocery store sale again and mindlessly buy a huge amount of plain yogurt, I won’t be a yogurt-head anymore. (Haha, yogurt-head. New insult perhaps?)

As for blueberries, they’re probably going to be hanging around for a little bit longer unless I become absolutely sick of them. Or until I can’t find them anymore (which is probably going to happen sooner since the chances of me ever getting tired of blueberries is close to nothing). Did all you blueberries hear that? I pledged eternal love.

My coffee cake with a small scoop of spumoni ice cream lurking menacingly in the background.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

6 responses »

  1. Your sense of humor coupled with some lovely photography absolutely makes my day. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

    Reply
  2. that looks heavenly. I must try this recipe soon because I, too, have a container of plain yogurt to finish.

    Reply
  3. I like your own blogging style. I will certainly pop in more often.

    Reply
  4. Hey…your recipe got me thirsting for some cake. Time to bake some.

    Reply
  5. Natalie my mom was at your house today or something but anyways she brought some of this cake home today and I ate it and it was delicious (: TYTY!!! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

