RSS Feed

Pie and I

Pie and I. We had a jolly good time, pie and I.
I rolled, it baked. It finished, I ate.
We did have a jolly good time, pie and I.

Like my poetry? I’m taking a “Beginning Verse Writing” class in the Fall where I learn to write poetry. I’m practicing by making Dr. Seuss-esque poems about pie. Very productive, I know.

Egg shells and dough scraps

I made the pie dough on Tuesday afternoon as I stared out my kitchen window, watching the rainwater drip from my cherry tree leaves. Poor cherries. I was too lazy to pick you this summer. You were also pretty sour and, um, worm-infected. Then I went on vacation and came back and it seemed like you were all gone. It was those birds, wasn’t it? Pecked the living daylights out of you. I’m sorry I didn’t get to you sooner.

I thought I was going to call this rainy day pie, so I sadly rolled the dough together into a blob of buttery, flour-y, tasteless goodness and placed it in my fridge.

Then I came home on Wednesday afternoon and found my dough chilled and hard as a rock (which is a good thing for pie dough because warm, damp dough makes for a very tough crust when baked). And, you guessed it, good ole sunshine peeked through my skylights and my windows and shone on my pie dough. That’s when I made the filling. Sugar, blueberries, lemon zest, and lemon juice never seemed better as I hummed to The Beach Boys. Want some Beach Boys?

And as I brushed my pie with egg wash, sunshine glittered and sparkled in the shiny reflection of the dough. I was giddy with excitement.

Rollin' the dough. Roll to me, baby!

Blueberry Pie (Adapted from Organic and Chic by Sarah Magid)

All-Butter Pie Crust:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
14 tablespoons organic unsalted butter, chilled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces
Ice water

Blueberry Filling:
2 pints (4 cups) organic blueberries
3/4 cup cane sugar or turbinado sugar
3 tablespoons of all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
2 teaspoons of grated lemon zest
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

To finish:
1 large egg
1 tablespoon of water

Directions:

  1. For the pie crust: using an electric mixer, mix the flour and salt together. Add the butter and mix until the mixture has formed into small pieces.
  2. Add a tablespoon of water at a time and very briefly knead the dough until it is moist enough to hold together (this will probably take 4-6 tablespoons).
  3. Form the dough into a ball wrap it in plastic wrap, and flatten it into a disk. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour (I refrigerated mine overnight–the colder it is, the better, flakier crust you’ll have.)
  4. WARNING: Do not overwork the dough. Overworking it will lead to a tough, unappetizing crust. Only knead it until it sticks together. If some pieces are a bit crumbly, just stick it on to the ball of dough and wrap with saran wrap to make it stay together.
  5. While dough is chilling, prepare the filling: combine all filling ingredients in a medium bowl. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate to let thicken (~30 minutes).
  6. Position a rack in the lowest third of the oven and preheat oven to 400 F.
  7. Divide the dough in half and roll out one half on a lightly floured surface to make a 12 1/2 inch round. Transfer the dough to a 9-inch pie dish OR 8 inch cake pan. Trim the overhang to 3/4 inch.
  8. Spoon the filling into the crust.
  9. Roll out the other dough half on a lightly floured surface to form a 12 inch round. Place this half on top of the pie dish/cake pan and trim overhang. Crimp the edges together to prevent leakage.
  10. OPTIONAL: Use your fingers to pinch the dough scraps into words, such as LOVE, TRUTH, or PEACE, or make a heart shape, and place on the center of the pie.
  11. Beat the egg with 1 tablespoon of water. Use a pastry brush to coat the crust with the egg mixture.
  12. Place the pie dish/cake pan on a baking sheet and bake for 40 tot 45 minutes, or until the filling bubbles thickly in the center and the crust is honey brown.
  13. Let pie cool and serve with ice cream (if you’d like).

MMMMM! Pieeeee. As you can see, my pie sprung a few leaks. Blueberry filling oozed out. But it turned out really nice, regardless. The best part about this recipe is that..it uses less than 2 sticks of butter! HOLLA–I found a recipe that uses less than 2 sticks of that log of fat and cholesterol we call butter! (Please don’t hate me, Julia Child.)

I once saw a pie crust recipe that called for 4 sticks of butter. That’s a whole pound of butter. That’s 3256 calories we’re talking about. If someone ate that pie alone…

Let’s not even think about that.

Want to see what happened when I stuck a knife into my slice of pie “Friday the 13th” style?

Its guts spilled out.

Spilled guts for the win.

I hope you feel slightly (if not completely) inspired to go bake a pie. Don’t say I didn’t warn you, but it’s sort of September already. Just sort of. And September means the Autumn Equinox on September 21, which can be translated to mean a disappearance of local blueberries, peaches, and watermelons…

And the appearance of pumpkins in huge cardboard boxes in front of grocery stores. Pumpkins. Halloween. Witches. Ghosts. Spilled guts. Shudder. I’d rather be eating pie.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

5 responses »

  1. You make me want a hot pie right now.

    Reply
  2. i am addicted to this

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Granola-Topped Pumpkin Maple Pie | Seattle Lunchbox

  4. Pingback: O Beautiful, For Spacious Pies « Seattle Lunchbox

Leave a Reply

