RSS Feed

Yogurt “Cheesecake” Souffle

They fell a little bit. Learn from my mistakes and 1) don't open the oven door 2) beat your egg whites enough.

I’ve been looking through my old blog posts recently. I think my cheeks came close to burning with humiliation even though I was only reading them to myself. My incredibly unattractive pictures, my poor blogging skills…grr! It all sums up to a very, very poor blogging start. So I’m commissioning myself to go back and edit the picture sizes and grammar mistakes of all my old posts. (I’ve got about 70 posts total…so this might take a while.)

But, damn, 70! And my blog is about 5 months old. That amounts to…a post every 2 days or so for the past 5 months.

Every 2 days.

That just goes to show how much I love you, blog. It’s commitment. All those celebrity couples that manage to have embarrassing pictures of their sad faces posted in the “People” magazine  could really take some “Secrets to a Happy Marriage” lessons from us.

Delicious raspberry-vanilla frozen yogurt melting on warm souffle.

But, blog, I also happen to have an extremely amazing relationship with..food. Cue dramatic gasp. Could food be the “other woman”? Find out on the next episode of…CUT! Yeah TV overload is melting my brain.

I am not even going to bother totaling the hours I spend vegetating in front of my TV when I’m not at my micro lab. Well, not just TV. Also movies. Like those Lifetime Nora Roberts movies with creepy murders and steamy romances. And Alfred Hitchcock movies, of course! Like one of my favorites with Laurence Olivier and Joan Fontaine in “Rebecca”.

Laurence Olivier has charm to die for. Definitely tops Clark Gable and Warren Beatty. (I’m talking about these fabulous men in context of the first half of the 20th century.) But then Vivien Leigh went and married Laurence Olivier and co-starred with Clark Gable. No fair.

Darn that pretty lady.

But you know what’s prettier? Yogurt “Cheesecake” Souffles. These things are externally and internally beautiful. Delicious cheesecake texture with..no cheese! Thus explaining the “cheesecake” in quotation marks. Made from yogurt and whole goodness. Now tell me…Vivien Leigh or Yogurt “Cheesecake” Souffle (with frozen yogurt on top)?

or

I choose the souffle. (Told you I have an amazing relationship with food.)

Yogurt ‘Cheesecake’ Souffles (Adapted from Baking Bites)
2/3 cup plain yogurt
2 large egg yolks
2 large egg whites, room temperature
2 tbsp all-purpose flour
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/3 cup sugar
butter and sugar, for ramekins

Preheat the oven to 375F.
Butter 4 6-oz. ramekins. Pour a small amount of sugar into each and roll the ramekins to coat (just like flouring a pan). Set on a baking sheet.
In a large mixing bowl, whisk together yogurt, egg yolks, flour, salt and vanilla extract.
In a medium mixing bowl, beat egg whites and cream of tartar until foamy. Gradually stream in sugar and continue beating on medium-high speed until all sugar has been incorporated and egg whites have reached soft peaks.
Working in two or three batches, gently fold egg whites in to yolk mixture. This can be done with a whisk or with a spatula. Make sure all egg whites have been fully incorporated.
Divide mixture evenly into ramekins, using about 1/2 cup in each and leaving ramekins on the baking tray.
Bake for about 15 minutes, until evenly risen and lightly browned around the edges.
Serve immediately.

Makes 4.

Pre-baking

I always feel extra smart when I bake things without high-calorie ingredients like my no-butter chocolate chip cookies and no-butter oatmeal cookies. It makes me feel extraordinarily healthy. And now I baked a cheesecake souffle without cheese.

How cool is that? You might call this cheating, but I call this healthy thinking. You all know why cheesecake tastes so good…-cough- carbs, fat, sat. fat, -cough-.

But on second thought, let’s just not think about that or else I’ll start to feel guilty about everything else I’ve baked that contained all of the things I just named. -gulp-

At least now I baked something with plain yogurt! Yay me!

Be smart and add frozen yogurt/ice cream if your souffles fall.

Yum yum dum dum with fun fun in my tum tum.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

4 responses »

  1. I’m always scared of cooking stuff with yogurt since I’m convinced it’s gonna separate, but this looks pretty amazing…AND i have all the ingredients. Woohoo!

    Reply
  2. Adorable, appetiizing desserts! Adding your blog to my list of websites to check daily.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Blueberry Coffee Cake | Seattle Lunchbox

  4. Useful info. Lucky mme I discovered your website by accident, and I’m stunned why this coincidence did nnot happened
    earlier! I bookmarked it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

