RSS Feed

Triple Lemon Yogurt Cake

I think I have a fatal attraction to pretty fonts. About 2 weeks ago, I was in the baking goods aisle of Matthew’s Thriftway and lo and behold, I saw a bottle of organic lemon extract in a pretty font. I bought it without looking at the price and only after I checked out and glanced at my receipt did I realize what a stupid buy that was.

And so I’ve been bathing in the guilt of buying an overpriced bottle of lemon extract. But the font! It reminds me of Papyrus, but not quite so scribbly and sharp. It has more curves (<–I know what you’re thinking).

Back in elementary school, I would always pick out my favorite valentine cards based on the fonts. The Spongebob Squarepants fonts always irritated me. And then the Batman fonts were painful to read. I think I always picked Hello Kitty and Strawberry Shortcake valentines as my favorites.

So I bought a bottle of lemon extract for no reason. The only way to solve that dilemma would be to find a reason. And that is why I baked this Triple Lemon Yogurt Cake.

It’s triple lemon! Zest, juice, and extract! What now!

Triple Lemon Yogurt Cake (Adapted from One Lovely Life)

Ingredients:

For the cake:
1 1/2c flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2tsp salt
1c whole-milk, plain yogurt
1c sugar
1/3c canola oil
3 eggs
zest from 2 small lemons
1/4tsp vanilla extract
1/4-1/2tsp lemon extract

For the lemon syrup:
1/3c sugar
1/3c fresh lemon juice (2-3 lemons)

For glaze:
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1/4tsp vanilla extract

Directions:
Make the cake by sifting the flour, baking powder, and salt into a medium bowl. In a large bowl, combine yogurt, sugar, and canola oil. Add eggs one at a time stirring until well incorporated. Add lemon zest, vanilla, and 1/4tsp lemon extract. Taste (if you’re not nervous), and add more lemon extract if desired. Add the sifted dry ingredients to your wet/yogurt mixture all at once and stir to combine.

Pour into a well-sprayed loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

During the last 5-10 minutes of baking, heat lemon syrup ingredients (1/3c sugar, 1/3c lemon juice) in a medium saucepan over medium heat until sugar is completely dissolved. Allow to cool slightly as you remove cake from the oven.

Remove cake from the oven and let stand on a cooling rack about 5 minutes. Turn out onto platter or serving plate and, while still warm, drizzle with lemon syrup. Allow cake to cool completely.

When cake is completely cool, make glaze by combining lemon juice, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract. If mixture is too thick to pour, you can thin it with a small splash of milk. Pour over cake and allow to set before serving.

There’s also another component of this cake that is “triple”. The cake, syrup, and glaze. Ooh. So there are double “triple lemon” aspects of the cake. Double triple…hmm

I might have written the above two sentences just so I could say “double triple”.

Speaking of which, I am, once again, forced to use twice as much shampoo as average people do to thoroughly cleanse my hair because it has grown into a thick bush again. I want to get a haircut (even though I just got one a few weeks ago).

I told my Mom on one of our lengthy phone conversations while I twiddled with my iPod earphone on the bus and she responded with, “Another haircut? Are you attempting baldness?”

But I actually sort of am. I have so much hair it’s not even funny.  No matter what country I get a haircut in (Taiwan, Canada, Japan, or America), the stylists always tell me “You have so much hair!”.

I wish I didn’t.

The other day at the retirement home where I volunteer, the ladies all ran their hands through my hair in envy. I run my hands through my hair in annoyance. It’s so thick I have to use 2 times as much shampoo regularly and 3 times as much to get that obnoxious chlorine smell out after I go swimming.

And what’s even worse is that I have a larger-than-average head. According to my mom, I used to look like a bobblehead when I was a baby. (I think she’s exaggerating. I mean…could I really look like a bobblehead?)

Anyways, more about the cake. It was my first time baking a cake with yogurt and it is incredibly remarkable in how different the texture is. Baking a cake with yogurt (and without butter) makes it fluffier and more sponge-like. If I find a recipe with yogurt and excessive egg beating, I think the cake will rise to the height of Mt. Everest (more exaggerating).

The syrup and glaze together give the cake a shiny suface and makes it look much nicer. This was also the first time I added syrup and glaze on top of a cake. Wow, a lot of “firsts”, “doubles”, and “triples” in this post.  Syrup and glaze are such easy alternatives to frosting. I am definitely adding syrup or glaze the next time I bake a basic cake that looks a bit plain.

And this cake is really lemon-y. Thus explaining the triple lemon. But it’s not sour. It’s sweet with that smell and slight tingling of lemon lurking in the background. It’s neat. Try it.

It's an isoceles triangle! Sort of. I have mad skills at making my slice of cake into bite-size geometric pieces.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

4 responses »

  1. Looks scrumptious.
    P.S. Cherish your thick head of hair.

    Reply
  2. This cake looks delectable with the shiny surface created by the syrup and glaze.
    Well done, blogger!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Blueberry Coffee Cake | Seattle Lunchbox

Leave a Reply

