RSS Feed

Review: Thai Tom Does Not Impress

I have many issues with this restaurant that was listed #44 best in Seattle by Yelp!. I definitely do not think Thai Tom is worthy of that ranking. Here’s why:

  1. I typically do not mind going partially deaf when someone blasts Soulja Boy in my ear. At dances, parties, or when my friend J– places an earbud in my ear and does our little dance to “Swing” with me. But when I’m trying to enjoy my Phad Thai and have conversation over lunch, I do mind going partially deaf to Soulja Boy. If they refuse to turn their volume down, at least play something that makes it physically possible to have conversation over (like Alicia Keys, if they want pop). I’m not picky about loud music (I blast music on my iPod too), but what kind of restaurant interrupts all chances of conversation with “SHAWTY LET ME SEE YOUR HIPS SWING!”? I tried commenting on my food, but nope, Soulja Boy dominated my sound waves.
  2. I also disliked their service. There were only two waitresses and a roomful of people to serve. I understand that they were rushed and busy. But their disrespect of my voice was irksome. I had emptied my glass of water and decided that it is typical that waitresses/waiters refill our glasses without asking. So I went without asking for about ten minutes. Then I gestured to a waitress coming our way and she told me, “We’re really busy right now. Just wait a few minutes.” I really wanted to tell her that she’s busy because of the customers. I’m a customer, therefore I should deserve some of her attention too, don’t you think?
  3. I don’t appreciate that they occupied a third of my dish with unwanted white steamed rice. Traditional Asian meals typically consist of vegetables and meat with a choice of grain (either rice or noodles). When I order noodles, I expect noodles. Not 2/3 noodles and 1/3 rice. I ordered Phad Thai. Phad Thai itself is rice noodles. I liked the way they stir fried the noodles and the spices used. But when I saw a clump of white rice taking up space where my noodles should have been, I was slightly disappointed. It seemed like they were cheating and depriving me of my choice of noodles. Freedom of choice please?

When I judge a restaurant, I judge it on three things (primarily): food, atmosphere, and service. Thai Tom just didn’t do all that well in all 3 categories. I was left unimpressed by a restaurant that friends, newspapers, and the internet lauded.

Needless to say, when I say it does not impress, I mean that I don’t think it’s worthy of such high praise. The food is palatable. I enjoyed my Thai Iced Coffee and the part of my Phad Thai that was Phad Thai. I just think that the restaurant needs some improvement. Before such improvements are made, I won’t be seen going back there again unless it is to drink their Iced Coffee with some friends.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

4 responses »

  1. Excellent critique. I agree with you about the rice and noodles distinction. And about the music and service: if I ever visit Seattle, this will be on my list of restaurants not to go to.

    Reply
  2. I am so happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the random misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.

    Reply
  3. keep it real, iight

    Reply

Leave a Reply

