RSS Feed

Bottega Italiana Gelato

What’s the difference between gelato and ice cream?

If you answered “Gelato’s Italian and Ice Cream’s American”, you’re a noob (did I really just use the word “noob” in public? Oh god…).

The correct answer goes a little something like this, courtesy of About.Com

…while ice cream legally has a minimum of 10 percent fat, gelato is made with a greater proportion of whole milk to cream, so it contains more like five to seven percent fat.

…gelato is churned at a slower speed than ice cream, so it’s denser because not as much air is whipped into the mixture. (Gelato contains about 25 to 30 percent air, while ice cream can contain as much as 50 percent air) Finally, while ice cream is typically served frozen, gelato is typically stored and served at a slightly warmer temperature, so it’s not quite completely frozen.

And with that, I present to you…Bottega Italiana!

The only bad thing about this place is that I have mental debates with myself. I mean, how can you possibly choose between Panna Cotta and Caramel? Or Watermelon and Cantaloupe? Or Chocolate Hazelnut and Tiramisu?

Grr! Heartbreaking. But luckily the “small” portion gives you the option of 2 flavors to lessen your flavor-choosing stress. My dad went ahead and got Chocolate Hazelnut and Tiramisu in a small cup. I got a single kid’s scoop of Caramel, and my sister got a single kid’s scoop of Strawberry basil.

The white one is Caramel, the brown one is Chocolate Hazelnut (with the Tiramisu scoop on bottom), and the pale purple one is Strawberry Basil.

Damn…that was some good stuff.

But beware of guilt. Do you know that feeling you get after eating something really good but also really caloric and you can “feel” your waistline expanding? Yet, about half an hour later, you see something else that looks really good (but really caloric) and you eat it anyways thinking that you can work it off later? But you never do work it off later?

That’s the epitome of weight gain for me. In fact, I have not weighed myself since I have had that gelato. You might say, “Natalie, stop being a ridiculous whining gal, it was a scoop of gelato”, but then I’ll say back, “You don’t even know what else I ate.”

Oh so now you really want to know? I ate a hearty Moscow Roll at Piroshky, Piroshky in Pike Place Market, I ate a medium size portion of fries, and I drank a whole can of Coke.

Now do you see my concern? It’s genuine.

But, how I need ice cream right now! It’s sweltering, I’m tired and dizzy from studying for my final, and all I need would be a single kid’s scoop of that delicious gelato. Something fruity probably. Like Watermelon or Melon…

I haven’t shown you a picture of all the flavors yet, have I? Well here you are. Let your eyes feast.

Also, beware of crowds. On a hot Saturday afternoon, one of the best gelato shops in Seattle is undoubtedly going to have a lot of people. We were lucky we managed to salvage some little cushioned stools. Most people were resigned to eating their gelato standing while trying to get some AC (before emerging into the horrific heat of the day again.)

Wait, there’s more! This isn’t just a gelato shop. It’s a coffee shop! Smart, isn’t it? I’ve always wondered where Ice Cream Truck drivers go during the winter. Do they just curl up in a corner and hibernate until it’s warm enough to come lure us Ice Cream-Wanting kids out of our houses? Bottega Italiana clearly booms with business during the summer. But during the winter…they have their exquisite coffee to survive them.

I’ve heard a lot about their coffee from online raves. But do you honestly think I am mad enough about coffee to drink a hot latte on a 94 degree afternoon? You shouldn’t. I’m not that big about coffee yet. Their coffee comes in nice white glass cups with cream and sugar and all that pizazz.I think they’ll give you portable cups when you order to-go also.

The Viennese Cappuccino really caught my eye. If you’re a Seattlite in need of some coffee during the cold wintry days coming soon, tell me and we’ll go and get ourselves some good espresso.

Well, I think that wraps up my humble post about some very good ice cream and potentially comforting coffee. Located on 1st Ave near Pike Place Market. You should add it to your list of things the next time you decide to pretend (or become) a Seattle tourist.

I totally pretended to be a tourist the other day…

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

One response »

Leave a Reply

