RSS Feed

Blueberry Cake Pudding and Study Breaks

My political aspirations go way back. Way back…

It all started when I wanted to be a princess. Not just any princess, mind you. In my Pre-Kindergarten “Autobiography”, I specified that I wanted to be a mermaid princess and drew a stick figure with flaming red hair, a purple clamshell bra, and a green fish tail. Even before that, I had a mini-obssession with Pocahontas and her nimble feet.

Little Princess Natalie didn’t want the satin and silk, she wanted the deerskin tunics, war paint, and purple clam shell bras.

Then I suppose I somehow realized that there were no princesses in America. I figured that a president’s daughter would be the closest thing to a princess there was (just look at Chelsea Clinton!). So for a while, I wished every night that my dad would become the President of the U.S. so I could dress my Barbies in the Oval Office like how JFK’s children played when he was the president.

That was…until I realized that my Dad’s more interested in building a solar energy-powered toy car than he is in the Bill of Rights.

Darn it. Yet another attempt at political fame spoiled. So when I was in 4th or 5th grade, I decided that I could become First Lady. I would choose the perfect hubby who would become the President.

I guess I started to grow a brain in middle school when I came to the conclusion that marriage to a future President was pretty rare…and could be a potentially stupid decision.

So then I wanted to be the president myself. The first Asian Female President. Pretty darn cool, ain’t it?

But I guess all that has changed. Now I’m more fascinated by dendritic movement of human kidney cells (which I had the good fortune of harvesting in my lab) than by politics.

Why do I mention all of this? Because during a study break from my Medical Ethics class (whose final is this coming Friday…yikes!), I went to foodtimeline.org and amused myself with historical food. When I came across food associated with American presidents, I was so psyched.

I then went to the official Inaugural website and found luncheon menus from the past five inauguration luncheons. And then I Googled some more and found presidents’ personal favorites.

Did you know that Abe Lincoln’s favorite cake was the White Almond Cake baked by Mary Todd Lincoln herself? Did you also know that Woodrow Wilson didn’t really like to eat much? Did you know that Eleanor Roosevelt baked Blueberry Cake Pudding?

Betcha didn’t.

So I thought, “Blueberry Cake Pudding..why not? It’s blueberry season anyways, right?”

Blueberry Cake Pudding (Adapted from Taste of  Home)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • TOPPING:
  • 3/4 cup sugar*
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 cup boiling water

Directions

  1. Toss the blueberries with cinnamon and lemon juice; place in a greased 8-in. square baking dish. In a small bowl, combine the flour, sugar and baking powder; stir in milk and butter. Spoon over berries.
  2. Combine sugar and cornstarch; sprinkle over batter. Slowly pour boiling water over all. Bake at 350° for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the cake portion comes out clean. Yield: 9 servings.

This cake pudding is perfect for a summer night. Soft, moist cake on top with warm blueberry filling on the bottom. It’s just like a cobber, but with cake on top. Sweetness is just right. Using blueberries effectively (especially that box of blueberries that tasted horrid alone, but when baked..oh delicious).

This is also a pretty simple recipe that I whipped up while watching male gymnastics. Although I have to say, some of those mammoth biceps and deltoids made me lose my appetite. How can a human arm possibly support all of that muscle?

Oh, in case you’re out of sugar, you’re not alone. Apparently, I used up all of the sugar the last time I baked and forgot to go get some, so I had about a tablespoon of sugar left. My solution? Brown sugar. Turned out just fine. Brown sugar is essentially just white sugar with a tablespoon of molasses anyways.

*Tip: If you want a golden brown look on top, use brown sugar for the topping.

If you haven’t noticed, I’m taking a study break from…finals studying. Well that should be a “final” in the singular form since I only have one final, but that’s what gives me so much stress. Only one final. That means that I should 4.0 it right? Oh dear. I should stop blogging and get back to reading about prenatal testing and disability rights. Even though Med Ethics has become one of my favorite classes ever, I’m still extremely anxious about the final.

But regardless of the final, I just wanted to let you all know that summer’s almost over. What what what! Yeah, pretty shocking to me too. But it’s almost over. So take advantage of it.

Go outside, try to take a nap on your porch, try to not have your dog jump into your lap and take up your napping space. But if he does anyways, take lots and lots of pictures. Summer only comes once a year darlings. (P.S. that’s dog hair on my chin. So no, it’s not a lonely white hair growing on my chin, as weird as that would be.)

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

4 responses »

  1. Nice recipe.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: O Beautiful, For Spacious Pies « Seattle Lunchbox

  3. I read with interest your recipe for cheesecake soufflé. I want to make a spinach soufflé – and as with many recipes, it calls for one cup of whole milk. This is a substance I do not like to purchase as it does not come readily in 1 cup amounts and we do not use it at all otherwise. Do you think plain yogurt might be a one-for-one substitute for whole milk in a savory soufflé? Or is there another ingredient that should be added with it?
    We do use 1% milk. Is there something I could add to that to approximate whole milk?

    Reply
    • Hi Linda, absolutely! The only difference between whole milk and 1% milk is the extra fat so what I usually do is just for every cup of milk add 3 tablespoons of melted butter or olive oil if I’m not using whole milk. Hope this turns out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

