RSS Feed

Let’s Fry Some Bananas!

Posted on

I feel like that would be a very inspirational end to a pep rally. “Let’s fry some bananas, kiddo!”

What about a potential pick-up line, like “Would you like to fry my bananas?”.

Fried bananas are crunchy, gooey, warm goodness. I’m adding them to my list of comfort foods. Comfort foods are crucial to life. Especially to a college girl taking 4 hours of back-to-back classes everyday during the summer, doing microbiology research, blogging, and still trying to get my dose of Vitamin D. But, most importantly, comfort foods are fantastic for winding down as you are all tucked up in your Snuggie and throwing pillows at your television.

Throwing pillows…? Duh! It all started back in elementary school when my girlfriends and I watched late night celebrity gossip during our 3rd grade sleepovers and whenever Paris Hilton or Lindsay Lohan appeared, we would throw pillows at their heads.

To this day I throw pillows at my television. When I watched “Pretty Little Liars” and saw annoying high school girls (like Mona), I threw pillows at them. When I caught my sister watching Hannah Montana, I threw pillows at Miley Cyrus’s face (I ran out of pillows eventually and had to run up to the TV to gather my ammo).

But, no kidding, these things are good if you make them right. I made these at school today (and messed up quite a few times), so I went home and made a few more. Then I took a plate and sat and watched “The Bachelor Pad” until I was ready to puke out of disgust at the trashiness of the show (and until I had run out of pillows to throw.)

Fried Bananas

Ingredients:

3 big ripe bananas
1 1/2 cup flour
3 tablespoons of sugar
1 egg
3/4 cup of water
Oil for deep frying

Method:

Break the bananas (with hands) into small pieces and put them into a bowl. Add flour, egg, sugar, and some water. Use a big spoon and stir the ingredients so they are well blended.

Heat up a frying pan and add some cooking oil for deep frying. Once the oil is heated, scoop up a spoonful of batter into the frying pan. Flatten the batter with the bottom of a spatula. Fry first side for approximately 1 minute, and the other side for 30 seconds. Adjust time as you deem necessary.

Look who’s frying! And yes I did get a haircut. It’s a bob. Like a 90’s style bob where the hair is longer in the front and shorter in the back. My Mom asked me why I got a Tori Spelling look and I told her that it’s because I love Beverly Hills 90210 too much. I do.

Why did I fry bananas? I like frying things. Ever since I made buttermilk pancakes, I’ve discovered an inner desire to fry things. But you know how frying things load on the calories? So fried bananas are a perfect alternative. You get your serving of fruit with some flour and a teensy bit of sugar, but you fry it so it tastes warm and hearty, but it’s actually pretty low-calorie.

Oh and just some preliminary words of wisdom. Your first banana fritter will be the ugliest thing you’ve ever seen and I can almost guarantee that the inside won’t be as good as you would have liked if you don’t have the natural touch of a cook. I am not fortunate enough to be endowed with this innate ability. So my first three banana fritters were epic fails. The fourth one was acceptable. Then the next two were burnt. And then I finally got the hang of it. My good friends K– and J– were there to help me eat the “fails” and told me they were good even when I know they weren’t. Thanks for the emotional consolation guys.

The ones that I include photographs of are the “good ones”. And those definitely don’t look amazing. So if you end up with some ugly ones, just stuff them in your mouth and savor the warm banana with the crispy outside. Mm-mmm….

And don’t forget to put your banana peels into your compost bin for Yard Waste.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Tweeted by MC

Leave a Reply

