RSS Feed

My First Attempt at Buttermilk Pancakes

Posted on

I think that everyone should have their own ten commandments. Well, yesterday, I discovered the first of my ten commandments:

  1. Never wear baggy male basketball shorts in public ever again.

And there is, in fact, a story behind this statement.

First off, I’ve taken up Waveboarding (not wakeboarding, this is Seattle not Honolulu). It’s the equivalent of a skateboard, except for it has only two swivel wheels, and you propel the board by twisting your hips and moving your feet up/down alternately.

I’m actually getting pretty good at it. I can wave continuous circles around a basketball court clockwise and counter-clockwise. I can get on the board. I can stop.

So where do the basketball shorts come in? Right about here. I decided to walk about half a mile to a nice little park to practice my waveboarding. I figured that it would be acceptable for me to wear baggy men’s basketball shorts because I was waveboarding. So I put on that pair of basketball shorts I got from Target last summer for hip hop dance, and walked to the park with a waveboard in one hand and my iPod in the other.

I cannot tell you how awkward wearing those shorts were. They felt uncomfortable (ahem) and they made me look very strange (so strange that I became self-conscious as I walked on a very familiar street.) So in an effort to take my mind off of these shorts, I played my meditative collection of Chopin waltzes to quell my inner tumult.

But I did my Waveboarding anyways. I succeeded in pleasing myself. As soon as I got home, I looked in the mirror and made my first commandment that I will never again wear baggy basketball shorts for men.

So guess what? Natalie made pancakes for the first time! All by herself. The frying, the mix, the mixing…all of it! Natalie is a proud girl. (Why am I talking in the third person? I’ll stop.)

Best Buttermilk Pancakes (Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Living Classics Cookbook)

Yield: 16 4-inch ones pancakes

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, or slightly less table salt
3 tablespoons sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
3 cups buttermilk*
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus 1 tablespoon extra for brushing griddle (

1. Place a griddle pan or cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat.

2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar in a medium bowl. In a second medium bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, eggs, and butter. Make well in center of dry ingredients and pour in wet ingredients; gently stir until just combined (batter should remain lumpy with few streaks of flour)

3. Test the griddle by sprinkling a few drops of water on it. If the water bounces and spatters, the griddle is hot enough. Using a pastry brush, brush the remaining 1/2 teaspoon butter onto the griddle. Wipe off the excess with a folded paper towel.

4. Using a 1/4 cup measurement, pour the batter in pools 2 inches apart. When the pancakes have bubbles on top and are slightly dry around the edges, about 2 1/2 minutes, flip over. If any batter oozes, push it back under with your spatula. Cook until golden on bottom, about 1 minute.

5. Repeat with the remaining batter. You can keep the finished pancakes on a heat-proof plate in the oven at 175°F. Serve warm.

(*: You don’t actually have to go buy buttermilk. A good substitution recipe would be this, from Brown Eyed BakerTo make buttermilk, place 1 tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice in a liquid measuring cup. Add enough milk to bring the liquid up to the 1-cup line. Let stand for 5 minutes, and then use as much as the recipe calls for)

And just like that I made pancakes.

This also gave me the chance to use some of that Vermont Maple Syrup my cousin gave me for Christmas. She’s a college sophomore in Middlebury College. Delicious….

As always, I saved a virtual bite for you. Say, “Ahh…” (as creepy as that sounds).

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

3 responses »

  1. amazing pancakes

    Reply
  2. Pancakes…yum

    Reply
  3. favorite recipes

    great post, looking forward to your next, if your on twitter follow me @favoriterecipe , i follow everyone back

    Reply

Leave a Reply

