RSS Feed

Chocolate Pudding in the Heat of the Moment

Posted on

 

Every now and then, Mother Nature pokes us to remind us that it’s summer. Kind of like how she made it around 95 degrees yesterday, forcing me to place a fan by my piano as I practiced (which then caused some problems because my fan turned pages when I didn’t want it to…).

But even as we rush for the AC-equipped places, your loyal blogger stays and makes food. Chocolate pudding to be exact.

Ah, but wait! There is a story behind this chocolate pudding. It’s a rather boring story, but it’s worth telling…I GOT MY FIRST RECIPE BOOK! This calls for an “OMG” text to Gossip Girl! No…Gossip Girl would call me “el chica loco” (crazy girl) for freaking out about a cookbook. But, you really don’t know how much this means to me. It means, that food is now a central component of my life (I don’t mean the simple act of “eating”, silly. I’m talking about the study of food!).

I was more passionate about getting this book than I was about buying “The Great Gatsby” (which still ranks as one of my favorite books of all time). I got home, sat down, and read. I bookmarked and high-lighted as if I were reading my Chemistry textbook! And it was so worth it. For within a half hour, I found my newest food adventure: pudding.

And here its.."Organic and Chic" by Sarah Magid

The original recipe calls for whole milk, which I didn’t have on me, so I did a little bit of recipe tweaking and used skim milk (which I have plenty of) instead. Allow me to share my recipe with you.

Chocolate Pudding (Adapted from “Organic and Chic” by Sarah Magid)

  • 1/4 cup organic corn starch
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup organic cane sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup organic skim milk, chilled
  • 2 teaspoons organic vanilla extract

Combine the cornstarch, cocoa, and sugar in a small heavy-bottomed saucepan on low heat (only for about 30 seconds).

With the pan on low heat, slowly pour in the cold milk, whisking to combine.

Increase the heat to medium high and continue whisking (make sure to get rid of any lumps) until the mixture boils, about 1 minute. Remove the pan from heat and stir in the vanilla.

Let cool in the refrigerator with plastic wrap on the surface to prevent a skin from forming. Serve in individual cups. Makes 2-3 servings.

You can adjust your desire thickness by adding/subtracting milk and corn starch (thinner=more milk, thicker=more corn starch).

But eating homemade chocolate pudding in the heat is pure bliss. Speaking of which, do you know the song “Heat of the Moment” by that 80s band named Asia. It’s a pretty good song. My sister and I spent last summer screaming “it was the…HEAT OF THE MOMENT!” in our backyard. Our neighbors were nice and put up with it, of course. But the song is so awesome! It makes me want to jump in the sun…which is what I’m going to go do now, I think.

So do me a favor and listen to the song and scream “IT WAS THE HEAT OF THE MOMENT!”. K, thanks, bye.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

Leave a Reply

