RSS Feed

I’m Back! With Some Chocolate Green Tea Bundt Cake

Posted on

So my blog was put on a temporary halt because of some issue with my camera. But, luckily, the issue has been solved! Turns out it was just a little corruption on my memory card and after taking it in to have my photos downloaded, I reformatted it and voila! Everything is back to normal.

To start it all off, my sister’s in Minnesota right now. She’s at a very intensive and competitive math camp called Math Path. I was extremely proud of her for getting in, then very eager for her to leave so I could be at peace for 2 weeks, and now I’m very forlorn. She left early Sunday morning and it’s only been 2 days, and it feels like an eternity. I miss having someone to yell at and someone to always tell me that the things I bake are “delicious”, even though I know that it could have been better.

It’s funny, thinking back now, how the whole week before she left I did all sorts of silly sister-sister things to make her feel like I was going to have a blast in Seattle while she suffered in the heat of Minnesota. I told her “I’m going to make a bavarian fruit tart while you’re gone. Haha! Oh and Neiman Marcus chocolate chip cookies while you’re gone” and then she would punch me and go “You’re just trying to spite me” and I said “I actually am”.

But Melanie, I’m actually not going to make all those things because I would rather have you here to eat them with me. So I’m not trying to spite you anymore.

Anyways, on Saturday night, I baked a Chocolate Green Tea Bundt Cake for Melanie. It was her last night in Seattle until mid-July! I had to do something for her! And it was delicious.

Take a bite! (Not to sound creepy or anything. That just seems like a more appropriate caption for this picture)

Chocolate Green Tea Bundt Cake (Adapted from Bakerella)

Chocolate Mixture
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

Matcha mixture
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 Tbsp matcha powder
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Wet ingredients
1 3/4 cups sugar *
3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
3 eggs, room temperature
1 3/4 cup milk, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla

*I only added 1 1/4 cup, but it wasn’t very sweet, so a half cup more would probably do the trick. The original recipe calls for 3 cups, so if you like your cakes very sweet and wouldn’t mind gaining a few extra pounds, go for it! If not, 1 3/4 cup would be just right.

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  • Grease and flour (or cocoa) a 10 or 12 cup Bundt pan. (If using a 10-cup pan, you can reserve any extra batter for cupcakes.)
  • With a wire whisk, mix the dry ingredients for the chocolate mixture in a small bowl and set aside.
  • In another small bowl, do the same for the matcha mixture.
  • Using a mixer, cream the butter and sugar. Add the eggs, milk and vanilla and mix until thoroughly combined.
  • Divide the creamed mixture evenly in two separate bowls.
  • Slowly add the chocolate mixture to one half of the creamed mixture and mix thoroughly.
  • Then, add the matcha mixture to the other half of the creamed mixture and mix thoroughly.
  • Drop alternating spoonfuls of each mixture into the bundt pan until it’s about 3/4 full.
  • For a marbled effect, gently run a knife through the two batters in a swirling motion. (Once or twice will do the trick.)

  • Bake for about 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Everything was so right about the cake! The marbled pattern turned out perfectly. Beautiful swirls. The matcha taste was lovely (I love green tea) and the chocolate taste was just right as to not overpower the matcha, but to provide a balance.

Almost like a yingyang. And, of course, it was the last thing my sister ate before leaving for Minnesota. She loved it, naturally.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Green Tea Rice Pudding « Seattle Lunchbox

Leave a Reply

