RSS Feed

Fudge Pudding Cake for a Fantastic Father

Posted on

I love this blog. It such a fantastic place for me to rant about everything in life that I disprove of. But it is also a fantastic place for me to talk about everything in life that I adore. And a lot of things have been going on in my life lately.

Like how I just realized that I was the winner of a giveaway from Joy the Baker’s blog about two months ago. I feel so neglectful for not realizing until today! Lucky for me, Joy was a real pal and still held on to that tart pan for me. Aww. So I guess I get a tart pan now! Just in time for the 4th of July, right?

Second, I have a piano recital in about two weeks and I’m worried. I’m playing Chopin’s famous Fantasie-Impromptu and Beethoven’s Sonata No. 1. Whenever I play Beethoven’s Sonata Pathetique I think about my deep emotional agony accumulated through all my unsuccessful love interests from 1st grade to now. When I play Chopin’s famous Minute Waltz, I think about getting lost in an endless world of Neiman Marcus dresses with the smell of Chanel No. 5 Perfume wafting in the air.

But Chopins’ Fantasie-Impromptu! What shall I think about? I have no more emotional agony and no more Neiman Marcus dresses. This calls for some deep thinking. Maybe I should think about this through another person’s perspective. Is there anyone out there with an emotional story that I can think about when I play the piece?

Well, before I get too far from the point of this post, I am writing this post for this one cake that was made for this one father on this one day. A Fudge Pudding Cake for my father on Father’s Day. Yay!

Fudge Pudding Cake (Adapted from King Arthur Flour)

1 cup (4 1/4 ounces) King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour (or all-purpose flour of your choice)
1 1/4 cup sugar, divided
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons (1 1/8 ounces) cocoa (Dutch process is best), divided
1/2 cup (4 ounces) milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons (7/8 ounce) melted shortening or vegetable oil
1 3/4 cups (14 ounces) hot water

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, 1/2 cup of the sugar, baking powder, salt, and 2 tablespoons of the cocoa. Stir in the milk, vanilla and melted shortening or oil, mixing till smooth. Pour the batter into a greased 8 or 9-inch round or square cake pan.

Mix the remaining 3/4 cup sugar with the remaining 1/4 cup cocoa, and sprinkle this mixture over the batter. Gently drizzle the hot water over the uncooked batter; there’s no need to mix it in.

Bake the cake in a preheated 350°F oven for 25-40 minutes, or until the top is set. Serve the cake hot, with its pudding sauce spooned over the top and topped with whipped cream or ice cream, if desired. If you can’t serve it right away, keep it at room temperature (for 2 or 3 days), and reheat it in the microwave just before serving.

My favorite part of this cake? The pudding. There is nothing like warm chocolate cake with warm pudding drizzled over it. And I’m telling you: this is one of my new favorite cake recipes. It is so unbelievably simple and there’s no butter required! (Yay for not needing to beat myself up over forgetting to leave the butter out at room temperature.)

And my father loved it of course. At first, I was going to make him a margarita cake because he’s, well, my dad. But after further consideration, I decided to make him a very simple and homely cake to accompany his dinner at the buffet. Even better than that, my dad sent me a very nice thank you email just for making that cake. I love it when my parents show the sweet sides of their personalities.

So Dad, you’re the best! Thanks for putting up with my awful singing and my tendency to knock things over while practicing leg kicks for dance throughout the year. Thanks for playing poker with my little sister and me and playing BS with us even when Melanie tries to cheat. I love you, Dad.

A very iconic father-daughter picture, isn't it?

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

Leave a Reply

