RSS Feed

Dear Homemade Frappuccinos and Pound Cake, Starbucks Has Got Nothin’ On You

Posted on

Know that song? Nothin’ On You by B.o.b. featuring Bruno Mars? The one that people choose to use for their Facebook status messages and the one that Kiss FM just can’t stop playing (to the point that when I hear it coming from my live stream on my laptop, I throw my earphones down in frustration and resort to listening to classical music).

That song is obnoxious. But it makes sense when I apply it to homemade frappuccinos and pound cake! I mean, hellooo, I just saved you ~$7 to be wasted at Starbucks. A $4 frappuccino + a little pastry that’s around $3 from that pricey little shop playing oldie and indie music is quite a burden when it is so easy to whip your own up at home.

So next time you head out for some Starbucks, LET THIS HAUNT YOU.

No, just kidding. I’ll try not to sound like a total bully as I finish the rest of this post.

First off, the pound cake!

Pound Cake

(Slightly Adapted from Smitten Kitchen Who Adapted it From Beard’s Beard On Food)

Makes one loaf cake

1 1/2 sticks butter, at room temperature, plus more for greasing the pan
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting the pan
1/2 teaspoon (3 grams) baking powder
Salt
4 large eggs, separated
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour a loaf pan. Sift the flour onto waxed paper and then spoon it gently back into the sifter, adding the baking powder and a good pinch of salt. Sift the mixture twice more, each time spooning it lightly into the sifter. Do it three times. For real. Don’t look at me like that.

2. Using an electric mixer, whip the egg whites until they hold soft peaks and then gradually beat in 1/2 cup of the sugar, two tablespoons at a time. Transfer to a bowl.

3. Fit the electric mixer with a paddle attachment and cream the butter until light and fluffy. Beat in the remaining sugar until fluffy. Beat in the egg yolks until light and lemon-colored and then add the vanilla extract.

4. Gradually fold the sifted flour mixture into the butter-egg mixture. Fold in the beaten egg whites just until the batter is smooth. Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake in the oven for 35 to 45 minutes or until a toothpick pierced in the center comes up clean. Cool in pan ten minutes on a rack, then cool the rest of the way out of the pan.

Next, the frappuccinos. May I have a drum roll please?…….Thank you, Johnny. (Jeopardy reference. Just embracing my inner nerd).

All hail the almighty blender!

Frappuccinos (Adapted from Joy the Baker)

1 cup strongly brewed coffee,  cooled

1 cup milk, cold (whole, 2 percent or skim, whatever you fancy)

1 whole frozen banana (DO NOT FREEZE WITH THE PEEL ON..I’ll tell you why later)

1-3 teaspoons of sugar, depending on how sweet you like your coffee

1/4 teaspoon almond extract (feel free to omit)

Add all of the ingredients to the blender and blend like there’s no tomorrow.

Want something else to make that frappuccino your style?

You could add:

2 Tablespoons of chocolate syrup

a dash of ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon instant coffee (for super coffee flavor)

1/4 teaspoon coconut extract

whipped cream on top

Yay Wicked cups!

Want to hear a short anecdote before I bid you farewell? So I was sort of dumb and froze my banana with the peel on. After over a day of freezing, I took the banana out thinking, “Now all I need to do is peel it and dump it into the blender, right?” Wrong.

A frozen banana and its peel are unbreakable. I ended up having to break the banana with my hands into pieces and shaving each individual piece’s peel off using a kitchen knife.

Why was that stupid? Well it wasted my time, made a huge mess of disgusting wet banana peel pieces, and left my hands red and numb from the cold.

Don’t be like me. Freeze the banana with the peel off.

And enjoy your summer. 🙂

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

2 responses »

  1. HahaI did the same thing when I was making banana ice cream! I ended up microwaving it for a couple of seconds and then cutting off the peel 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

