RSS Feed

Green Tea Cupcakes Were Made To Be Goddesses

Posted on

So there’s a fountain of Aphrodite, right? Well there should be a fountain for green tea cupcakes. Biting into warm, steamy, sweet green tea cupcakes struck me like love at first sight and inspired me to take this lovely green tea cupcake into my yard to photograph with peonies. But that was as far as our love got before I ate it.

Speaking of love, I have an awful confession to make. The other day, I was sitting at the Rotunda Cafeteria at the UW’s Health Sciences Pavillion, right by the espresso bar. What was I doing? Listening to some nice electronica as I attempted to study Taylor polynomials for my calculus final this coming Saturday. What happened? Well, as soon as I got through my first 3 polynomials, a man walked through the Rotunda and towards the espresso bar was a giant tray of cookies nestled on his shoulder and yelled “Hot cookies! Hot cookies!”

Goodness, I could feel my insides turning! Hot cookies, hot cookies…oh how could I resist? Then I thought about what I baked, with half the sugar and less butter than any recipe asked for. And then I thought of the cookies on his tray with probably twice the sugar and twice the butter (they are mass production cookies in a certain sense). But they were huge, chocolate chip cookies that were hot. I rummaged through my change pocket and found ~$1 worth of change (I would feel too guilty if I used actual dollar bills to pay for such a horrible, unhealthy treat) and I bought it.

The moments that I munched through the warm cookie with the crispy edges and the gooey chocolate chips were pure heaven. Then I finished the cookie and I realized what I had just done. I had just broken all the vows I had taken with this blog. I ate something that was undoubtedly unhealthier than everything else that I bake. I spent more money than a cookie is worth in buying this unhealthy treat too, and I probably just gained another 300 calories.

Darn them hot cookies! I’m sticking to green tea cupcakes (with reduced sugar) from now on. Next time I study at the Rotunda Cafeteria, I am not going to sit by the espresso bar.

Green Tea Cupcakes (Adapted from eat me, delicious)

1/2 sheet pan or 24 cupcakes
350 degree oven

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 large egg yolks
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 1/2 tablespoons matcha

1. Prepare cupcake pan with cupcake liners and preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Beat butter on high until soft, about 30 seconds.
3. Add sugar. Beat on medium-high until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
4. Add eggs/egg yolks one at a time, beat for 30 seconds between each.
5. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Add to batter and mix to combine.
6. Mix matcha in with the milk. Add to the batter and mix until combine.
7. Pour into prepared cupcake pan
8. Bake for 22-25 minutes until a cake tester comes out clean.

Note: The original recipe makes a sheet cake using the same recipe. Click on the link given above to see the instructions for that.

Mountains of little green tea cupcakes 🙂

And why is my dog always asking for food?

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Green Tea Rice Pudding « Seattle Lunchbox

Leave a Reply

