RSS Feed

Back to the Basics Brownies

Posted on

Sometimes it really doesn’t hurt to go back to the basics. After 2 months of this blog, I have exceeded my boundaries as a baker. I have baked more recipes than I thought I would ever be able to bake in my college years. To tell you the truth, up until that random day in spring break that I decided to start this blog, I never ever liked making things to eat. I loved to be the fat kid who sits at the table with a fork in my right hand and a knife in the other, my tongue lolling out and a napkin tucked like a bib into my shirt. I loved to see my mother carry the steaming plates of Chinese dishes and I loved to eat like there was no tomorrow.

Then I started baking. And everything changed. I now carried out the steaming pans of sweets with my family waiting anxiously and my father always wanting to sneak extra bites. My sister would stand by the cookies fresh out of the oven, poke the biggest one and call it “hers”. She would then stand there and keep poking it until it slightly hardened but was still hard to the touch. Then she picked it up and plopped it into her mouth in a giant gulp.

I can easily say that I bake to see my sister devour it and ask for seconds, to see my father slyly stealing another cookie on his way out of the kitchen, and to see my mother through mouthfuls of pastries say, “This is too good! It’s ruining my diet!”

Yes, all three of them. And my pug, who has now learned to recognize those gray baking sheets/pans and as soon as he hears our oven creak open, he jumps out of bed and stares at the hot trays of goodies with a glare so intense, I fear he would be able to outmatch Shrek’s little Puss in the Boots.

And because I was feeling a bit blue on Thursday, I baked one of the easiest things that bakers have ever created: brownies. A no-hassle-just-dump-stuff-in-a-bowl-or-two kind of recipe…ah, perfect for pre-final stress.

Hershey’s Brownies (Adapted from Hershey’s)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine, melted
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease 9-inch square baking pan.

2. Stir together butter, sugar and vanilla in bowl. Add eggs; beat well with spoon. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt; gradually add to egg mixture, beating until well blended. Stir in nuts, if desired. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan.

3. Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from sides of pan. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Prepare CREAMY BROWNIE FROSTING; spread over brownies. Cut into squares. About 16 brownies.

By the ways, wanna hear another secret? Secretly, all printable recipes end up like this (post-mortum)

What a perfect place to set all my spoons and the cocoa powder I spill! Genius, isn't it?

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

Leave a Reply

