RSS Feed

Eat: Brunch at Cafe Presse

Posted on

Oh sunshine. You are like Seattle’s own personal temptress. The moment we Seattlites catch a glimpse of your wispy golden rays, we stop dead in the middle of our tracks and simply stare, wishing that you would only stay there forever and let us stare at you through our aviators and designer shades.

And so my Mother’s Day Weekend began with the sun paying all of Seattle a fine visit. And, like I said, sunshine is Seattle’s little temptress. When my family and I woke up to a faceful of sunshine on Saturday morning, we decided that we couldn’t wait until Sunday for Mother’s Day brunch and immediately embarked to have our one-day-early Mother’s Day brunch.

Cafe Presse is a small, but contermporary, cafe located on First Hill, near the Swedish Medical Center. Something about the cafe struck me as very hip. Whether it was the contemporary clothing of all the waiters and waitresses, the free Wi-Fi they had, or simply the people who ate there, it certainly was not the traditional place for a Mother’s Day brunch.

But, man it was crowded! We walked into a full house. Lucky for us, 4 counter spots in the front of the cafe opened up and allowed us to sit down. Yes, I did think of making a reservation but they don’t take reservations until 5 pm. How irritating.

Maybe their menu was something else that struck me as urban. Their one page, brisk menu listing what they have without any unnecessary words (like those fancy restaurant menus that go on for pages because of the weird spacing).

We ordered with very little hesitation, with my mother taking an Omelette Au Champignon, my father and sister each taking their Croque Madames, and me going back to the basics with a simple baguette topped with gruyere cheese (I can be a minimalist when I want to be.) Oh, and of course, we added an order of pomme-frites, silly! What, did you think I would forget that?

Croque Madame

Pommes frites!

The food was delicieux! It’s so hard to put to words the feeling of sitting there in the sunshine, with French music wafting through the air and me placing pomme frite by pomme frite into my mouth. My fork stealing bites of my sister’s croque madame and the gruyere cheese melting on my tongue. Am I making you hungry? Yeah…I was hoping I would.

Oh! And before I forget, the dessert! They don’t even list it on their menu. How sly…we had a frozen dessert that consisted of lime parfait, with strawberries and whipped cream.

Lime parfait with whipped cream and strawberries.

Natalie’s Tips:

  • It will be crowded if you’re going on a weekend. And they don’t take reservations until 5 pm either. So, bet on your luck.
  • Outdoors or indoors? Your choice! The outdoors seems to be more ideal for groups of 2 or 3 on a sunny day. Families usually tend to stay indoors.
  • It can get pricey….beware.
  • If your sever doesn’t offer you dessert, be sure to ask! They don’t list dessert on the menu. -Hint hint-
About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

Leave a Reply

