RSS Feed

Bake: Red Velvet Cake Balls

Posted on

The worst part about little pieces of hard candy is how I’m always tempted to just bite down into it (and picture my teeth cracking) as opposed to holding it in my mouth and letting the taste stay there. The other day my sister gave me a box of mini-Cherryheads (the Lemonhead relative) and since each “head” was so small I simply just bit into it, as I would chewy taffy and licorice. It’s funny how everyone around you can hear you biting on hard candy when you do so. I know that is definitely not the right way to eat candy. I mean, just look at the Warhead guy! He is clearly holding the warhead in his mouth and letting the sourness drive him nuts (as he puckers up).

So yeah, that’s my most recent addition to my list of goals. Learning how to properly enjoy hard candy. I must let it rest in my mouth for a bit then, when it’s actually bite-able, I can consider leaving some teeth marks in it and hopefully won’t have the sound of my teeth clashing with a Gobstopper in French class again (you don’t want to know).

But the best thing to soothe a mouth like mine, that just wants to bite everything, is cake. More precisely, cake balls. What?! Yeah I know. It might sound weird but they are one heck of a delicious treat. And one heck of an easy treat to make for any baker. Here’s how to make my own version of cake balls:

Red Velvet Cake Balls (Adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks)

Ingredients:

1 box of Red Velvet Cake Mix

Optional:

Frosting, Melting Candies, or Icing to top it off.

Directions:

Just prepare the cake according to the directions on the package, and bake it in a 9 x 13-inch pan. Cover the cake with a dishtowel and allow to cool completely.

Once the cake has cooled, begin gently crumbling the cake. Place sections of the cake into a large bowl, 1/4 of the cake at a time. When you’re finished, you should have a bunch of very fine cake crumbs.

Some cake crumbs.

Use your bare hands to roll the cake up into balls. You will have to compress cake crumbs together to form something that looks like cookie dough and then roll it up into a ball, ONE HANDFUL AT A TIME.

The cake, cake crumbs, and cake balls!

This is important: pop ‘em in the freezer, uncovered, for at least an hour. The cake balls need to be very firm before coating them.

When the cake balls are nice and firm, go ahead and dip them/top them with whatever you want. I dipped my cake balls in frosting left over from my Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes. I had about half of my frosting left over, so if you were to make frosting just for dipping I would halve my original recipe, so you would have:

Cake Ball Frosting (Adapted from my Strawberry Lemonade Cupcake Frosting)

1/8 cup butter, softened
4 oz. package cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup strawberry puree
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup confectioners’ sugar

In a large bowl, beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Beat in 1/4 cup of the strawberry puree and the vanilla extract. (Simply put 1/4 cup of strawberries into your blender and press “puree”) Gradually add confectioners’ sugar, beating until smooth.

Finally: I just dipped the frozen cake balls into the frosting one by one. You can spoon it all over your cake balls if would look .Whatever floats your boat.

(Note: The original recipe calls for melting chocolate, which you can dip the cake balls in. Here are the instructions for making cake balls dipped in melting chocolate:
1 bag Melting Chocolate (12 Ozs. Any Color Or Combination Of Colors
Prepare a double boiler and dump the melting chocolate pieces into the bowl of the double boiler. Stir occasionally until the chocolate is totally melted and smooth and set aside.
Insert a stick sideways into each ball (paying attention to the flat part on the bottom). Now, you can either roll the ball in the chocolate, or spoon it over the top—whatever’s easier for you.
Be sure to thoroughly coat the bottom of the ball where it meets the stick.
Lay them back down onto waxed or parchment paper, paying attention to the flat part (get it against the parchment again.) Now decorate and get creative as you want!)

Would you like some Barbara Streisand with those cake balls? (Yeah, that doesn’t make any sense whatsoever. It sounds like one of those corny pick-up lines that you don’t understand in those “WORST PICK-UP LINE EVER!!!” spam mail.) But, no, I’m not trying out a new pick-up line on you, I’m just offering you some palatable music with that palatable treat.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

4 responses »

  1. I love the red velvet ball idea… they’re like munchkin donuts… I made red velvet baby bundts last week, and since then I’ve have seen at least 7 other red velvet posts in the past week. Must be the current trend!

    Reply
  2. natalie. why would you EVER ruin the fluffiness of red velvet, the crumbliness, by MUSHING THEM UP INTO BALLS.
    yeah, just my opinion. ;DD

    Reply
  3. @youngwifey: Red velvet is indeed delicious! I sure hope it isn’t only a fad 🙂
    @amanders: Haha. Yes I might have to agree with you on ruining the fluffiness of cake (while I was making the cake balls I secretly snuck chunks of light red velvet cake into my mouth. But don’t tell anyone). It’s just that it seems awfully simple to just put cake mix batter into an oven and call it a day. So why not do something creative with it, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

