RSS Feed

Bake: Apple-Cinnamon-Oatmeal Cookies

Posted on

After the first week of school, the first thing that comes to many minds is sleep. Yet, after a week of chemistry confusion, shedding back-to-school pounds, and doing my calculus homework in an hour the night before it’s due, the first thing that occurred to me was “Finally! A chance to use up those rolled oats!”

What am I talking about? Well, towards the beginning of the week, I baked the most delicious oatmeal chocolate-chip cookies I have ever baked in my life and brought it to school to share (where, of course, my wonderful schoolmates gorged on it like the hungry college students they are and gave me very confidence-boosting compliments). However, sort of like the hangover of this massive success with oatmeal cookies: the leftover rolled oats. I, for one, detest oatmeal. It’s just too bland and thick and unappetizing. It’s like burnt porridge. So I figured there was only one thing left for me to do: bake more oatmeal cookies.

But how boring is it to bake the same cookies two times in a row? Pretty boring. So I thought outside the box and decided to browse some more eating/cooking/baking blogs for ideas. That’s when I came upon Sophitimom’s blog. Not only was the layout of the blog absolutely eye-catching, the recipes were 100% drool-worthy. I present to you now, foodies and non-foodies, Natalie’s Apple-Cinnamon-Oatmeal Cookies.

Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies

Adapted from Sophistimom

2 1/4 cups (340g) unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 1/2 sticks unsalted room temperature butter
1 1/4 cups brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
3 eggs
3 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
4 1/2 cups (360g) quick oats
1 large apple, peeled, seeded, and cut into 1/2 inch chunks.

1. Preheat oven to 350 (180 degrees celsius). In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt , and spices. Set aside.

2. With a hand-held or stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugars until fluffy, about 2 minutes on medium speed. Add in eggs, one at a time, incorporating well after each addition. Add in vanilla.

3. Slowly add in dry ingredients, and mix until just incorporated. Stir in oatmeal with a spatula or spoon, and then apple chunks. Refrigerate for at least an hour.

4. Use a small ice cream scoop or a tablespoon to drop golf ball sized dough onto the cookie sheet, keeping at least an inch and a half between each cookie.

5. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until just turning golden brown.

Another wonderful batch of oatmeal cookies that even brings back some of the wonderful fall flavors that we have quite forgotten about in this not-so-lovely month of April! Please don’t tell me you haven’t tasted apple pie since your aunt’s precious Christmas dinner. Oh no, and don’t tell me that you haven’t had hot cinnamon apple cider since that really cold week back in January. If so, your taste buds demand some compensation for your careless neglect and these cookies will do just the job.

Unfortunately, dear school friends, I fear these cookies shall be consumed before I have a chance to take them to school. Yes. Very sad, I know. But, more baking ventures are to come! And I will most definitely remember to bring some. Adieu pour now!

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

Leave a Reply

