RSS Feed

Bake: Oatmeal Cookies Without Butter

Posted on

Life would be better without complications. But that simply isn’t the one it works. The one time you get tongue-tied and stutter has to be when you’re talking to the boy you like. The one time you so desperately need to satisfy your mac ‘n’ cheese craving is when your dormitory convenience store has sold out of it. And the one time you think cookies are the solution to all your problems in the world? Well, looks like there’s no butter left.

But, as much as there’s no telling what complications life will throw your way, there’s no telling what amazing solutions you’re just as capable of coming up with. So I solved it all by making up my own no-butter recipe. Enjoy, readers.

Natalie’s No-Butter Oatmeal Cookies (Baked mine with chocolate chips ’cause I had some left)

2 eggs
1 cup of Brown sugar
1/2 cup of granulated sugar
2/3 cup vegetable oil (a friend of mine used olive oil once and it turned out alright)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon of hot water
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups quick rolled oats
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
OPTIONAL: 1/2 cup chocolate chips (you can substitute chocolate chips with dried fruit like raisins, cranberries, blueberies, etc.)

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Beat the two eggs until frothy in a mixing bowl.
  3. Mix in both the brown sugar and the granulated sugar. Add the cooking oil and vanilla.
  4. Dissolve the baking soda in the hot water and then add it in.
  5. Add oats, flour, and salt. Mix thoroughly. At this point, feel free to add in your dried fruit/chocolateĀ  chips.
  6. Drop by tablespoonful onto ungreased cookie sheet.
  7. Bake 8-10 minutes. Remove to wire rack to cool.

A cookie for you:

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

46 responses »

  1. Pingback: Yogurt “Cheesecake” Souffle | Seattle Lunchbox

  2. No butter cookies, I never thought it was possible. Thanks

    Reply
  3. oatmeal cookies

    Reply
  4. Love these, I added cinnamon and unsweetened cocoa. Turned out amazing, thanks!

    Reply
  5. Great recipe, I’m so glad to find a recipe without butter. Thanks!

    Reply
  6. this is great….i had everything ready to make oatmeal cookies and realized i had no butter..so glad i found this recipe..thanks šŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Holy cow! I just made these, and they are probably the most delicious oatmeal cookies I’ve ever had. I added some ground cloves and cinnamon to the mix for some spiciness, and wow. Mine came out perfectly round and flat, exactly how I like my oatmeal cookies. This recipe is going to absolutely be a staple in our household, and I’m going to pass it on to other members of my family. Thanks!

    Reply
  8. These cookies were good, but I found that if you add some lemon juice and almond extract, it tastes really good! Still nothing is the same without good old butter!

    Reply
  9. I just made them and my husband is gobbling them up. I used dark brown sugar & whole wheat flour because we were out of regular brown sugar and white flour.

    Reply
  10. I just made there turned out pretty good I added some food colouring and made them marble looking.. also added some smarties for the kids… they loved it..Thanks!

    Reply
  11. These cookies are fantastic! This was my first time making cookies without butter and they turned out great. I only had about 1/4 c of white sugar so I added a bit more brown sugar and added a teaspoon of cinnamon as well. Yum! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  12. Natalie thanks for this recipe, these are the best oatmeal cookies I’ve ever tasted. I added raisins to mine, and used olive oil as that’s the only oil I ever use in foods. Another thing I noticed is that these cookies were very filling after eating a few I was so full.

    Reply
  13. Thank you so much! This cookies were a lifesaver today! I had company and forgot to buy cookies AND had no butter, they were a hit!

    Reply
  14. Mine turned out hollow in the middle?? What did I do wrong I followed instructions…

    Reply
  15. Thanks for a cookie recipe with oil instead of butter. My 2 yr. old granddaughter wanted us to make oatmeal cookies and was glad to find a healthier recipe. Thanks

    Reply
  16. I made them with cinnamon, raisins and wholemeal flour! Yummy!

    Reply
  17. Thanks for the recipe! My husband made these today with my daughter for Mother’s Day, and they were delicious! They used 1/3 semisweet chocolate chips and 1/3 white chocolate chips and added some walnuts as well (no raisins on hand)! Turned out amazing.

    Reply
  18. Thank you so much for this. Healthy and very yummy šŸ™‚

    Reply
  19. A lil peanut butter, protien powder, unsweetned cocoa! BOMB!!!

    Reply
  20. Thank you, I have not made oatmeal cookies so many times because I didn’t have butter.So Thank you collage nerd.. Ha!Ha.!

    Reply
  21. These are amazing! Thank you so much!

    Reply
  22. I admit, I wasn’t sure what I would get when I tried this recipe. I was shocked at the idea of oil cookies as oppose to the usual butter/margerine/whatever, but the store just wasn’t an option.

    These are delicious! I also added chocolate chips to mine. They aren’t at all the “oily” cookie I was expecting.

    Reply
  23. try them these are fantastic, im definitely making these again! i even made bite size cookies (about a tsp) really really like these hope next time they come out crispy. =)

    Reply
  24. THESE ARE PERFECT!!!

    Reply
  25. The cookie batter is one of the yummiest, if not THE yummiest, I’ve ever tried. In the words of Extreme Home Makeover-participants: OhMaGawd! They’ll be out of the oven in 5 minutes..can’t wait!

    Reply
  26. These cookies are delicious! i had a bit of an issue maybe you experienced…my batter was really runny and made cookies SUPER thin and fragile. very yummy but thin. Any suggestions?

    Reply
  27. What would happen if I didn’t add baking soda I’m all out

    Reply
    • I believe you can substitue baking soda with baking powder if you have that? The typical conversion is tripling the amount of baking soda and using that amount as your baking powder measurement. Let me know how it turns out!

      Reply
  28. Pingback: Out of Butter? | MommyWifeLife

  29. I’ve made these once before and they were AMAZING!! I’m going to try them with coconut oil next

    Reply
  30. You could try putting the batter in the freezer for a few minutes to make it easier to spoon into the cookie sheet. That’s how I do it after reading it on a recipe for chewy oatmeal cookies.

    Reply
  31. I made them with the coconut oil they were so good!! the only thing is that you need to let them sit over night because the coconut oil makes them much sweeter. if you let them sit the coconut oil settles.

    Reply
  32. I just made them, they’re yummy!! But I added some flour because my batter looked too liquidy and I wasn’t sure whether it was supposed to be thicker or not. They came out a bit crispy at the bottom, but maybe that was the olive oil’s fault? Thank you for the recipe!

    Reply
  33. Karen Stogsdill

    These were great except were a little to salty.

    Reply
  34. I don’t have any parchment paper so do I still not spray the baking sheet

    Reply
  35. Good. Not overly sweet. A tiny tad dry, nothing a little milk or coffee can’t satisfy. Overall pleasantly tasty. Will probably make again. Thanks!

    Reply
  36. It was my first time making oatmeal raisin cookies! These turned out great and my dad also approved! However, the cookies did spread out a lot and ending up becoming somewhat rectangular and massive. I used about half a spoonful and a minute less to bake next batch and it came out wonderful!

    Reply
  37. Amazing recipe!! Thank you.

    Reply
  38. Pingback: Healthy Cookies Without Butter – about food and health

  39. Delicious recipe — thank you!!! I added 1/2 cup of coconut and 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, an extra teaspoon of vanilla, and cut out the white sugar, and the texture and taste are wonderful! I will definitely experiment with add-ins — maybe throw in some pecans next time as well šŸ™‚ Thanks again!

    Reply
  40. I have tried SO many oatmeal cookie recipes and didn’t like something about each one… too soft, not enough flavor, didn’t bake right… then I happened upon THIS one and… it is the most PERFECT cookie recipe EVER! I have already made them 4 times these past few weeks because (picky) hubby LOVES them! I on w uoi posted this many years ago, but THANK YOU SO MUCH! ā¤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

