RSS Feed

Bake: Milano Cookies and my first baking failure

Posted on

I have this sort of mode I go into every time I finish intensive work-outs. I call it the “Lazy Butt” mode (how creative, I know). It’s when I just finish an hour of non-stop sit-ups, push-ups, running, and yoga. I sit in front of my desk, sweaty and gross, muscles aching, super tired, and my productivity level falls to a -25%. It was this afternoon when I was feeling this icky that I decided to try to bake my own variation of Milano cookies. I am not going to tell you the outcome yet, but just for your information, it didn’t turn out pretty.

What Milano cookies should look like.

I skipped out on the chocolate filling since I just didn’t have the ingredients (this was all a spur of the moment thing) and going out just to buy heavy cream did not sound pleasant at the time. Here’s my variation of the Milano cookie recipe, adapted from 17 and Baking.

Milano Cookies (Makes a lot of cookies)

12 tablespoons (170grams/ 6 oz) unsalted butter, softened

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

7/8 cup egg whites (from about 6 eggs)
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Sprinkles (Optional)

  1. Cream the butter and the sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer (don’t forget to cream it on high speed). Add the egg whites gradually and then mix in the vanilla extract. Add the flour and mix until just well mixed.

    The batter

  2. Use a teaspoon to spoon batter onto parchment lined sheets. Using the spoon, swirl the batter into nice circular shapes. Do not forget to leave 2″ between each cookie (I neglected this part and the results are not pretty). Add sprinkles if you want to.

    With sprinkles.

    No sprinkles

  3. Chill sheets briefly, then bake on the highest possible oven rack for 10 minutes or until slightly golden brown around edges. Cool on cookie sheets.

If I show you the finished results, promise not to laugh at me. Please?

Yikes!

Eeks!

Finally! a decent looking one.

How did I screw up my Milano cookies? I didn’t leave enough space between the cookies. Here’s a tip: this recipe makes a lot of batter. If you’re just going with a nice afternoon treat, halve it. Unless you plan on bringing this to a potluck to share with many friends, don’t use as much as the recipe suggests.

I used two of my largest baking sheets and still ended up having to double the size of some of my cookies because there was just too much batter left. And, how stupid I was! How could I forget that egg whites have magical expanding powers? How could I forget! I am lamenting over my first baking failure.

I suppose I’ll have a pity party and eat up my messed-up Milano cookies. Good night everyone.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

Leave a Reply

