RSS Feed

Mini Cinnamon Cupcakes

You know you’re a crazy blogger when instead of saying “This is going on Facebook!” you say “This is going on my blog!”.

You know you’re a crazy foodie when 3 hours before your biology midterm you go into a kitchen, say “Screw it. I’m done studying” and make mini cinnamon cupcakes, instead of cramming random tidbits of stuff into your cranium.

You know you’re a food blogger when you drag your fat camera along to school everyday just in case you make or eat something picture-worthy.

You also know you’ve made the right friends when you give a friend a deck of cupcake recipe cards for her birthday and have a serious discussion about making piroshkies with another. And when you pose for pictures with a friend while wearing college-logo aprons and holding kitchen knives.

Haha

This is my life, guys. I know it’s awesome.

Even though it’s midterms week and my bus gets stuck in traffic and I have club meetings that go until 7 pm, life can be good.

When I tell people that I’m a commuter student and I have to cross a lake to get to school everyday, people sometimes wince or shudder. But then I tell them that I don’t have to wake up at 1 AM to the sound of a first-time-drunk freshman puking in the toilet across the hall.

One of my friends A– lives in a residence hall at school and I hung out at her room today, munching away on Oreos and having a rant session about midterms. We just sat there for an hour checking course schedules, talking, making faces at our calendars, and everything that kids usually do during midterms week. And right there and then, I realized how similar dorming was to my commuting life.

Before, I had the impression that I “miss out” on things by not dorming, but the truth is, I don’t. If I dormed, I would probably still spend my nights doing chemistry practice problems and going grocery shopping with my friends. And even if I dormed, my social life would most likely revolve around my friends from classes and the student organizations/groups I’m involved in.

Although it is convenient to have a home a 7 minute walk away from a lecture hall, I have a home that’s just a half-hour bus ride away. And possibly the best part about living at home is the food. Trust me. I don’t know what I would do without my own kitchen. What would happen if I woke up in the middle of the night and couldn’t bake cookies?!

So to all the commuting college kids out there, don’t feel like you’re missing out. You’re not. I’m with you all.

Mini Cinnamon Cupcakes (Adapted from Peabody)

4 oz unsalted butter, at room temperature
¾ cup granulated sugar
2 eggs, at room temperature
½ tsp vanilla extract
1 cup all purpose flour
2 TBSP corn starch
1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon (I used Red Ape)
1 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
½ cup sour cream

Position rack to center of the oven and preheat to 350F.

Spray a mini muffin tin(holds 24 or 2 that hold 12) with baking spray.

In the bowl of a stand mixer using the paddle attachment, beat together, on medium-high speed, the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

In a small bowl, lightly beat the eggs and vanilla together. Add to butter mixture in two additions. Scraping down after each addition.

In a medium bowl add together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Add half this mixture to the mixer with the mixer on low speed. Add the sour cream. And then add the remaining flour mixture, blend until fully incorporated.

Using a small ice cream scoop, or a piping bag, fill the muffin tins ¾ of the way full. Bake for 15-18 minutes until golden brown and a cake tester inserted comes out clean.

Let cool for 5 minutes, then remove cupcakes and let cool on a wire rack. Frost when completely cool.

Honey Cinnamon Frosting (From Martha Stewart)

  • 1 1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • In a medium bowl, using an electric mixer, beat confectioners’ sugar, unsalted butter, honey, and ground cinnamon until smooth, 4 to 5 minutes.

    About Natalie C.

    I am a college junior at the University of Washington, wedged in the heart of Seattle life, rain, and food.

    3 responses »

    1. Glorious cupcakes! To second that notion, I also commuted when I went to college and boy did it turn out better than fine. Not only did it save me money for graduate school, I made just as many friends in classes and at events. Good going, standing up for non-dorming students like that!

      Reply
    2. I bet the honey cinnamon frosting is lovely with these.

      Reply
    3. LOL. So I finally find your blog and the first thing I see is a picture of us holding knives. LOVE ♥ =D

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 37 other followers