RSS Feed

The Ultimate Multipurpose Cookie

Posted on

I name these cookies honestly. They can be used for anything and suit people with any preference of cookie. You want the tinge of a gingersnap? You got it. You want gooey chocolate chips? You got it. You want the heartiness of oatmeal? You got it. (I sound like an annoying car advertisement.)

The real multipurpose part comes in when we think about what we could name these cookies.

Boy baiting cookies? Uh-huh.

Comfort cookies? You bet!

Share with your dog cookies? They love ‘em.

“I’m sorry” cookies?  I would forgive someone if I got these cookies.

Garage sale cookies? Yep….

I had a garage sale! I woke up at 7:30 on a Saturday morning, helped my parents move our couch, old TV, treadmill, boombox, speakers, stationery, picture books, bikes, roller skates all into our garage and on our driveway.

I’m probably forgetting something. Oh right…the cookies! $0.50 each.

Ginger Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (From Cinny Bear)

Ingredients

2 sticks unsalted butter (1/2 pound), softened but still firm
1 cup light brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon fresh ground nutmeg
3 cups rolled oats
1.5 to 2 cups chocolate chips

Directions

1. Adjust oven racks to low and middle positions; heat oven to 350 degrees. In bowl of electric mixer or by hand, beat butter until creamy. Add sugars; beat until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Beat in eggs one at a time.

2. Mix flour, salt, baking powder, ground ginger, and nutmeg together, then stir them into butter-sugar mixture with wooden spoon or large rubber spatula. Stir in oats and chocolate chips (do not over mix).

3. Form dough into sixteen to twenty 2-inch balls, placing each dough round onto one of two parchment paper-covered, large cookie sheets. Bake until cookie edges turn golden brown, 22 to 25 minutes. (Halfway during baking, turn cookie sheets from front to back and also switch them from top to bottom.) Slide cookies on parchment onto cooling rack. Let cool at least 30 minutes before serving.

Cookies as far as you can see.

I absolutely love garage sales. They just rake in the cash like there’s no tomorrow! Sitting there in my Flashdance-style sweater and leggings, while reading my “Physician Assisted Suicide” book, saying “Howdy doo!” to customers, and providing change…paid me so much more than minimum wage.

Can I just have a permanent garage sale? If I could sell all that stuff and earn hundreds of dollars in 5 hours…that amounts to a lot of money over the years.

It’s just too bad that I won’t always have an old TV, old couch set, extra boombox, outgrown roller skates, and toddler bikes to sell. So I guess garage sales are sort of a one-hit wonder for me.

But hey! I made money from baking! I made 27 cookies and sold 24. That left me with 3 cookies for photography and consumption.

Not bad, not bad for a Saturday’s work.

About Natalie C.

A college graduate in molecular biology eagerly awaiting the commencement of my quest for the luxurious yet completely impractical hood that one receives at a Doctorate graduation ceremony.

One response »

  1. I’m so glad the cookies turned out and you made some money from them!! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 710 other followers