RSS Feed

Warm, Soft Biscuits

Posted on

Last night, I dreamt of a place that people only dream about in films. But, I actually dreamed of it. I was in an unending meadow. The grass scratched against my calves and I was paranoid about getting bug bites, like I always am. I wasn’t wearing anything beautiful–yoga capri pants and a sweatshirt. I was eating something when I was in the meadow…I can’t remember what anymore. But, the most surprising part was that I was not alone. I was with two other people (who I shall not name here). They were two acquaintances who I would wave at and strike up conversation with when I saw them, but they were definitely not people that I would choose to be stranded in the wilderness with.

I must have started my dream in medias res because the first thing I did, aside from figure out who I was with and that I was eating something, was pestering my two acquaintances “Are you guys sure that’s where ____ is?”. They said “Yes” and I walked with them for what seemed like forever. Then, we suddenly made a series of sharp turns. I finished whatever I was eating and we stopped walking. I reached in my backpack for something else to eat. It was empty.

Now, my memory is blurred over what happened next. I must have thrown a tantrum at them because they ran away from me. The next part of my dream is crystal clear. I was anxious. I was all alone in a meadow and my acquaintances had disappeared. I dialed every number on my cell phone, but nobody picked up. I was alone and something just didn’t feel right. That’s when I woke up.

It started off so beautifully, but ended terribly.

There is only one thing to quell your mind with after a horrible dream like that (I’m not using the word “nightmare”, because it wasn’t entirely a horrible dream): eat.

And, of course, to eat one must find the right food and the right food is a product of baking. So, I baked some warm, soft biscuits. For myself! And for my family. And for you (virtually).

Warm, Soft Biscuits (Adapted from 17 and Baking)

Makes 8 biscuits

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoons baking powder
1 teaspoons salt
1 tablespoons white sugar
1/3 cup butter, chilled and cut into small pieces
3/4 cup milk

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal*. Pour in the milk and work with your hands/a spoon until the dough comes together.

Pat dough until 1 inch thick on a surface.

Cut biscuits with a large cutter or juice glass dipped in flour. Repeat until all dough is used. Brush off the excess flour, and place biscuits onto an ungreased baking sheet.

Bake for 13 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges begin to brown.

* (The original recipe asks for a food processor, but I managed without it by simply cutting my butter into very small chunks).

Meanwhile, for all you Seattlites, get out there and enjoy the sun while it’s still there. Oh, and bring a biscuit with you!

About Natalie C.

I am a college junior at the University of Washington, wedged in the heart of Seattle life, rain, and food.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers