RSS Feed

Bake: Easy Macbook Apple Cake

Posted on

The world is going through a complete Apple craze right now. iPads, iPods, iBooks, iPhones, iDogs, etc. Stick a lowercase “i” in front of anything and Apple can probably make it its own product. As a foodie and fashionista at the same time, perhaps the Apple products that I want to see the most are:

  • iWardrobes: automated wardrobe programs that help you pick out outfits, sort of like what Cher had in “Clueless”, only more 21st-century and less old-fashioned.
  • iChef: an application that tells me where I’m going wrong. “Too little butter!” “Careful on the sugar!” “It wants dutch-processed cocoa powder!” “You’re so darn stupid, you mistook baking powder for baking soda!”
  • iFit: a precise calorie-counter of exactly how many calories you burn/consume during the day. I hate how some machines don’t have calorie counters! Why don’t the abdominal crunch and bicep workout machines tell me how many calories I burn?

Anyways, getting back on track now, yesterday I baked a Macbook Cake for my friend J–. She got a Macbook Pro the other day (that lucky gal) and I saw reason to celebrate! Plus, I had an amazing Apple Cake recipe (get it? Apple, Apple?). How could I miss such an opportune chance to bake an apple cake?

The Apple Cake (Adapted from 17 and Baking)

4 cups raw chopped apples (large chunks)
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 3/4 cups sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla

Mix dry ingredients. Add chopped apples and mix so that apples are coated with dry ingredients. Add vanilla and eggs. Mix. Add melted butter. Mix well by hand. Place in greased pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

The Cream Cheese Frosting (Adapted from 17 and Baking)

8 oz cream cheese
5 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted

Beat the cream cheese, butter, and extract together until combined. Gradually beat in the powdered sugar until the desired consistency is reached.

Putting it Together:

Smooth cream cheese frosting onto the cake layer by layer until all the frosting is used. Use chocolate chips/sprinkles as garnish. I made my chocolate chips into an apple logo.

J-- and the cake!

Nom nom nom

And, as for the rest of you who had some (or a lot, ahem, R–) of the cake, hope you enjoyed it and were as happy eating it as I was baking it!

About Natalie C.

I am a college junior at the University of Washington, wedged in the heart of Seattle life, rain, and food.

3 responses »

  1. WOWWW. you’re so cool natalie. can you make icupcakes plz :33

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Coco-licious, Definition: Make a Baker Go Loco « Seattle Lunchbox

  3. hey. I just got word of this unique webpage and I should really believe that this unique is a nice write-up. Bless you for this kind of awesome info.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers